Winter Must-Makes

I have a confession to make.  Today I go back to work for the first time in 17 days.  With the collision of my brother’s graduation from college, a well-timed snowstorm, and some winter holidays, I have managed one sweet winter vacation this year.  So today is a day I knew was coming, but is not a day I have been looking forward to.  Nothing against my 9-5, but it has been stellar having so much time on my hands.

Our apartment is clean for the first time, well, since we moved in, the Tivo has been almost completely cleaned out, I’ve gotten a chance to try some new recipes, and I almost ran out of internet.  Let me explain…

I check a several blogs on a pretty regular basis, usually every weekend.  But with so much time off, these people just couldn’t update as fast as I could read.  Fast forward to Saturday night when I clicked on Foodgawker for the first time.

Where has this site been all my life?

I now have a queue of 8 or 9 more blogs to pore over and bookmark on my next 17-day vacation.  Whenever that may be.

In the meantime, to tide us both over, here is my winter to-make list:

Smitten Kitchen’s Tomato and Sausage Risotto

This sounds like the perfect one-pot dinner to me.  And it’s a new combination of flavors in an old favorite recipe.  Added bonus is that it’s a Smitten Kitchen recipe, so it must be a winner.

Photo from Amazon

Carmen Cooks’ Nutella Self-Frosting Cupcakes

I have an unhealthy love of Nutella, but can’t be bothered to do anything with it.  I usually eat it straight-up, only occasionally stopping to put it on something silly like bread.  But for this recipe, I think I could make an exception.

Barefoot Contessa’s Roasted Tomato Caprese Salad

Courtesy of my gal Ina.  I don’t believe I’ve ever tasted a roasted tomato, but everything else that comes out of her oven is to die for.  Caprese salad is something I didn’t know I could be enjoying in the winter, and might be a new weeknight staple.

Smitten Kitchen’s Chicken and Dumplings

When I asked my grandma if she had ever made chicken and dumplings, she got all smiley and told me her mother used to make it for her.  So I promised her I would make this with her soon.  This is the recipe I am most looking forward to.

Image from Starbucks

Annies-Eats’ Hot Chocolate Mix

My days at work always start off right when I am holding a hot cup of Starbucks in my hand.  I don’t like coffee, but I am addicted to their peppermint hot chocolate.  I’m hoping that by making this each morning, and stirring it with one of the 8,000 candy canes we have leftover from holiday decorating, I can save myself a solid $9 a week.

Joy the Baker’s Corn and Orange Muffins

I am intrigued by this combo and I usually have these ingredients on hand.

Wish me luck as I head off to the kitchen…

One thought on “Winter Must-Makes

  1. Pingback: Nutella Self-Frosting Cupcakes « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

