Homemade is the New Starbucks [hot chocolate mix]

What if I told you I found a rich and velvety hot chocolate that’s ten times better than the syrupy-sweet stuff you get at Starbucks?

I wouldn’t believe me either.  Because until I made this, I didn’t know it got any better than the Bucks.  I don’t drink coffee, but that doesn’t prevent me from needing a warm cup in my hands three times a week in the morning.  So off I trek (if you can call going across the street trekking) for my grande peppermint hot chocolate, 15 minutes before I’m due to arrive at work.  But Starbucks is an expensive habit to be into.  Thank you, Annie’s Eats, for saving me over $9.00 a week.

I cut Annie’s recipe in half and still have a TON of hot chocolate mix.  If you’re not a big hot chocolate drinker, think about cutting this recipe in quarters.  But don’t skip out.  It would be a crime.

I used:

  • 2 C of vanilla sugar (but you can use regular if you don’t keep vanilla on hand)
  • 1 lb of semi-sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 C cocoa (some swear by Dutch processed, but regular will suffice)

Combine the ingredients in the bowl of a food processor.  I used the chocolate I had on hand, which consisted of 6 oz. of semi-sweet baking squares, 8 oz. of bittersweet chocolate bars, and 2 oz. of semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Pulse until everything is finely ground.

Store in an airtight container for up to 6 months.

When the craving hits, stir 2 T of this mix into a mug of hot milk.  I like to stick in a candy cane to infuse some peppermint into my hot chocolate.


Bottom’s up!

One thought on “Homemade is the New Starbucks [hot chocolate mix]

  1. Pingback: It’s Beginning « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

