It Ain’t Easy Being Green

*Update* Well hello, post-honeymoon Jennie, it’s modern day Jennie!  So nice to reconnect with you.  I’m harkening back to the post in which I tell you all about Ina’s roasted broccoli so that I can tell you all about it again, complete with a better photo.  Broccoli always makes those lists of the healthiest foods you can eat, so I make this over and over without feeling a shred of guilt.  It seems like Andie, from one of my new favorite blogs, Can you Stay for Dinner, makes it all the time too.  Back to the past…

I wasn’t sure if I would want to cook on my honeymoon.  Turns out, I don’t!  I knew I would either need to cook everything in my bookmarks tab, or just not have my mojo with me.   So we’ll backtrack.

About two weeks before the wedding, without a working Tivo in sight, I stopped watching the Food Network.  Alas and alack!  Between wedding prep, two grad school classes, and, oh yeah, a full time job, something had to slide.  And it was Ina and Giada.  So this week at 4:30 each day, my butt is planted on the couch for an hour and I’m making up for lost time.

If you aren’t obsessive about all things Barefoot Contessa, then you may not know that this is a woman who roasts everything.  It’s how she cooks chicken, it’s how she cooks veggies, she even roasts tomatoes (when they’re not in season) for her Caprese salad.  And though you might be tempted to think this would grow old, Ina is, as always, dead on.  It concentrates the flavor in a dish.  And depth of flavor is Ina’s M.O.

I had to try Ina’s roasted broccoli.  Broccoli has always been one of my favorite veggies.  I eat it steamed, with just a smidge of butter, a squeeze of lemon juice, and salt.  But roasted?  I thought that was for chunkier veggies and tubers.

I had to leave a lot out of this recipe, as I’m not buying things I won’t use up in their entirety for our little rental house kitchen.  But I can taste the potential.

*Update* I don’t have to leave stuff out anymore and can now vouch for each ingredient in the dish.  A-mazing.  The only thing that gets left out time and time again are the pine nuts.  Those little guys are expensive.

Roasted Broccoli

oh-so-very *Update* not-so-very-loosely adapted from the Barefoot Contessa

  • 2 heads of broccoli
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled and thinly sliced
  • salt
  • pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 3 T toasted pine nuts (if you have them and are looking for some crunch–almonds or walnuts would be a possibility here too)
  • 2 T julienned basil (I have been known to skip this too on occasion)
  • parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Chop the broccoli into florets.  The smaller the pieces, the less you will need to cook them.  Place the broccoli on a baking sheet and top with the garlic.

Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Toss to coat.

Roast for 20-25 minutes, or until the florets start to brown and really crisp up.  You’ll hear the olive oil going crazy in the oven.  It’s a good thing.

Remove from the oven and sprinkle with the remaining ingredients.

I absolutely LOVED this, and could snack on it all weekend, every weekend.  My husband didn’t like it at all, meaning I failed at my first wifely duty.  Sorry, honey!

4 thoughts on “It Ain’t Easy Being Green

Leave a Reply

