On Road Trips

I drove home from the beach by myself a few weeks ago.  In a span of about 6 hours, I managed to binge on my most favorite junk foods.

No, seriously.

A Dairy Queen Blizzard.  Chex Mix.  And Chocolate Chip Cookies.

And if you know me at all, you can be certain that’s a glass of milk in the cup holder.

I know, right?  Who does that?

I consumed all of this food after a steady diet of meat, cheese balls and pink drinks.

So when I got home, the grocery haul looked like this:

It’s good to be home.

And it’s good to cook locally and seasonally.

And with that, I bring you baked summer squash.  Perfect for a summer night when you’re not looking to make anything too complicated.

All you need to do is slice your squash,

toss with olive oil, salt and pepper,

and layer with a mixture of bread crumbs and cheese.

I found the recipe on The Kitchn last summer, but I had eaten more than my fill of zucchini by then.  This summer I was ready to greet it head on.

This was a side dish for dinner one night, and I mixed it up with white wine vinegar, olive oil, and brown rice for salads the next few days.

To make enough to feed 6, you will need:

  • 1 1/2 -2 lbs. zucchini and/or summer squash
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1/3 C bread crumbs
  • 1/3 C grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/4 C fresh, chopped herbs (I used basil)
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Slice the zucchini into rounds, about 1/4 inch thick, and toss in a large bowl with olive oil, salt and pepper.  In a smaller bowl, mix the bread crumbs and cheese.  Place a layer of squash in the bottom of a casserole dish, or 9×13 inch pan.  Sprinkle with half the bread mixture.  Repeat with the remaining squash and bread mixture.  Cover the dish and bake for thirty minutes.  Remove cover, and bake for another 5 minutes, until the top is browned.  Top with herbs and serve.

 

 

3 thoughts on “On Road Trips

  1. that’s an impressive collection in your old car! i’m guessing you wouldn’t get all those junk-food crumbs on your NEW car! also, this “squish dish” (rhymes) looks DELICIOUS, so much so that i’m putting squish on the grocery list RIGHT NOW!!!!!

  2. I made the zucchini/squish dish last night, and it is DELICIOUS!!! The squash was not remotely watery, which is amazing. It had nice crunch to it, and the topping was great, not to mention quick and easy! Thanks, Glass of Milk!

Leave a Reply

