Best Dinner Ever

Kids these days are my kinda people.  They speak in total extremes.

OMG.

This is the best.  Day.  Ever.

I’ve been speaking like that my whole life.

Let’s say I was ahead of my time.

So I’m going to pull you in close here, and let you in on a little secret.

Dear readers.

This is the best.  Dinner.  Ever.

For realz.

After my Eagles suffered yet another heart wrenching loss at the hands of the Bills on Sunday (Really?  First the 49ers, now the Bills?  Really?), I channeled my anger into the best Sunday dinner this side of the Mississippi.  I can say that because Ree’s Peach-Whiskey Barbecue Chicken is on the other side.

Oh yes, you heard that right.  Peach.  Whiskey.  Barbecue.  Chicken.

For the love of all that is good and flavorful in the world.

This one went up on Ree’s site in the midst of grilling season.  As it requires turning on a hot oven for up to 2 hours, I knew it would have to sit patiently in my bookmarks file, waiting for the leaves to turn and the temperatures to drop.

And the minute they did, I was in the kitchen.

At the stove.

Browning me some chicken thighs.

And one bite into Sunday Dinner, the holiest of meals, my husband proclaimed this the best $*&!#@$ dinner I’ve ever made.  And that if I ever needed to show off my mad housewife skillz, this was the meal to make.

High compliments considering most everything I make for that man gets the definitive, “pretty good.”

But this dish is everything dinner with a cup of whiskey in it should be.  And more.

And it really takes the sting off a losing record.

To make enough for 4, you will need:

  • 8 chicken thighs
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 whole onion, diced
  • 1 C whiskey
  • 9 oz. barbecue sauce (I use Sweet Baby Ray’s.  The first ingredient is HFCS.  I don’t want to talk about it.)
  • 1 jar peach jam (at least that was from the farmers’ market)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 2 T Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, whacked and peeled
  • scallions, chopped

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Season the chicken with salt and pepper on both sides.  Heat the butter and oil in a heavy-bottom pan.  Place the thighs, 4 at a time, in the bottom and cook until browned, about 4 minutes.  Flip and repeat on the other side for 4 minutes.  Set chicken aside and repeat with remaining thighs.  Remove those to plate, and drain half the fat from the pan.  Add onion, and cook for another 4 minutes.  Add whiskey (slowly, and while standing back if you’re working over an open flame) and let the alcohol reduce and cook out for several minutes.  Pour in the barbecue sauce and peach jam.  If you have loose bits left in your jam jar, add the water, close the lid, and shake it up before adding water.  Add Worcestershire sauce and garlic, and stir everything till combined.  Put the chicken, skin side up, back in the pot, along with any juices that accumulated on the plate.  The Chew taught me that’s where the flavor hides.

Cover the pot and place in the oven for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.  Or until you can’t take it anymore because your house smells better than you’ve ever dreamed.  But really at least 1 hour because pink chicken = no fun.

Remove chicken to serving platter, drizzle with sauce, and top with scallions.

10 thoughts on “Best Dinner Ever

  1. Pingback: Better Than “Pretty Good” | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: 22 Recipes Everyone Should Know How to Cook | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: Nothing is Beneath Me | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

