Baking for Others

The Big Girls dedicated a chapter of their cookbook to baking for others, and I think it captures the reason we bake.  To share.  To tell someone we’re thinking of them.  To brighten that person’s day.

I was lucky enough to be surprised with baked goods twice last week.  Once with a Georgetown red velvet in the middle of a hectic workweek,

and once with this.

I sent a glass of milk’s youngest reader a recipe from Annie’s Eats that I was hoping to get to soon.  She, in turn, started clicking around on Annie’s blog, found these, and vowed to make them before the weekend was out.

And she did, replacing the white chocolate Annie called for with Scharffen Berger dark chocolate instead.

I just drooled as I typed that.

I couldn’t get enough of these (in fact, a glass of milk’s youngest reader was kind enough to bring me 2 more the following day).  Mixing pumpkin puree with both gingersnap and graham cracker crumbs made these so much more interesting than I expected.  And you could dip an old sneaker in Scharffen Bergen dark chocolate and I’d devour it.  These truffles are rich, and they’re addicting; a dangerous combination to be sure.

My eternal gratitude goes to AGOMYR for whipping these up and sharing the wealth.  That’s what baking is for.

*A note – If you’re not looking to spend an afternoon getting these together, prepare the truffle filling one day, and dip them in chocolate the next.

 

3 thoughts on “Baking for Others

  1. You: A note – If you’re not looking to spend an afternoon getting these together, prepare the truffle filling one day, and dip them in chocolate the next.
    Wooden Nickels: Better yet, would you just send me some?
    YUM!!!!! Have I ever mentioned that I love dark chocolate?

  2. these truffles WERE wealth to be shared in all of their richness :) it may take resting until the next holiday, but they will come out again, and you’ll be the first on my list of recipients!

Leave a Reply

