This Should Surprise No One

There are more scones in my life.  These, to be specific.  Yeah, that was fast.  I don’t mess around.

Also, the following series of photos accurately represents my life right now.

I made orange and dark chocolate scones.  Because I wanted to.

But let’s pan out a little bit and recognize there are weights on the table.  Weights that I had to toss around a couple times in order to feel better about eating the scones.

Victory!

Now let’s pan out a little more and notice the stack of holiday cards sitting un-filled-out, and un-addressed to the right. They’ve been there for a week.  But I’d rather make scones.

Buttery, flaky, barely sweet, citrus-infused, chocolate-studded scones.

Breakfast of champions.

And me.  All week.

My life, in a nutshell.

If you’ve never made scones before, we had a lot in common until last Sunday, when I saw the light, and didn’t stop to look back.

Believe me when I tell you how easy they are.  Press a button on the food processor, dump ingredients in bowl, add milk and egg(s), stir.  Done.  For real.

And beyond worth it.

To make 5 scones that you won’t want to share with anyone else, you will need:

  • 1 1/2 C flour (some of Joy’s commenters experimented with whole wheat, but this isn’t a flavor combo I’d be willing to go all healthy on)
  • 2 T sugar
  • 2 tsp. orange zest
  • 2 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 6 T cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 inch cubes
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/4 C cold buttermilk
  • 1/2 C dark chocolate, or bittersweet chips

Place rack in upper third of oven, and preheat to 425 degrees.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In bowl of food processor, pulse flour, sugar, orange zest, baking powder, baking soda, and salt a couple of times.  Add butter, and pulse until texture resembles coarse meal.  Dump mixture into large bowl.  In measuring cup, whisk buttermilk and egg yolk together.  Add to flour mixture all at once and stir till incorporated.  The dough looked a little dry at first, but once I mixed it with my hands a couple times, it came together just fine.  Add chips, and mix till incorporated.

On floured surface, knead dough 12-15 times.  Pat into 1-inch thick rectangle, and cut into 4 scones, or 6 small scones.  I cut 4 regular sized scones, and still manged to get another scone-and-a-half out of the scraps.  Bake for 12-15 minutes (mine were done at 12), and remove to let cool.

Eat them warm, and with butter if that’s what makes you giddy.

 

One thought on “This Should Surprise No One

  1. Got a recipe for cinnamon scones? The ones with little cinnamon-y swirls running through them? If so, please pass it along. I can handle dump-the-ingredients-in-a-food-processor-and-push-the-button.

    Plus, wheredja get the glass with the “R” and the golf club??? Very YOU! –Your blog fan, Wooden Nickels

Leave a Reply

