Crunchy Buckeyes

Somewhere, in a land far away, there are magical elves who dip everything in chocolate.  Because the pretty fairies flying high above them sprinkle their sparkly dust across the kingdom, the chocolate coats everything magically, evenly, and with a noticeable sheen.

I don’t live in that land.  I live in the real world.  The one in which I make sweets to share for the holidays, and don’t blog about them until the holidays are a distant memory, and the one in which the only elves for miles around are those on my new kitchen towels.

I have never figured out how to dip things in chocolate to achieve that perfect candy coating.  Bakerella seems to have no problem with it, nor do any of the other food bloggers whose confections I ogle.  I read their tips and faqs to no avail.  Whenever I need to make something coated with chocolate, as I so often do, I trudge into the kitchen with my big girl panties on, and slave over a bowl of melted chocolate, using every utensil I can get my hands on to ensure the least gloppage possible.

I’m keeping it real here folks.

I love it when you tell me what a good cook I am.  No, really, I do, and please continue to do so.  But I’m not perfect.  I can’t dip stuff in chocolate.

I don’t let these kinds of setbacks stop me in the kitchen, however, and therein lies an important difference between novice and more experienced home cooks.  If I let my inability to coat anything in chocolate stop me from baking, these crunchy buckeyes wouldn’t be in my life.

And then where would we be, dear readers?

Last fall, I attended a wedding.  Lucky for everyone, the groom’s family was from western Pennsylvania, which means one thing, and one thing alone.  Cookie table.  They are a legit tradition, as they have been written about in The New York Times.  This particular cookie table was not my first, and thus, I knew that I needed to hit it up before anyone else caught wind of what was going on if I wanted the best possible selection.  I grabbed Cari Faye and we loaded up on enough sugar to keep us running in circles for the remainder of the week.  I stuffed a half dozen of what I thought were cake balls in my goodie bag, and hid the bag under my wrap for the remainder of the evening (let’s not talk about the trust issues I have).

The next morning, when I bit into what I expected to be a cake ball, I was greeted with a crunch.  And a peanut buttery center.

It was a buckeye.

With Rice Krispies in the filling.

I wanted in.

Immediately.

So I did a little research and discovered Jessica’s Crispy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Truffles.

And I couldn’t stop eating them.

I had them with breakfast, lunch and dinner for a solid week.

And now that they’re gone, I can’t stop thinking about when I’ll eat them again.

It made no difference that the chocolate coating I gave them was sub-par.

To make 50 – 60 crunchy buckeyes, you will need:

  • 2 C creamy peanut butter (I used some natural and some JIF)
  • 2 C powdered sugar
  • 6 T softened butter
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1 C Rice Krispies cereal
  • 3 C milk or dark chocolate chips, whichever you prefer

Mix peanut butter, powdered sugar, and butter in mixer until combined and smooth, about 3 minutes.  On low speed, add vanilla until blended.  Stir Rice Krispies in by hand.  Using clean hands, or a small cookie scoop, form small balls and place on parchment-lined baking sheets and refrigerate at least 2 hours.  Melt chocolate in microwave (30 seconds, stir, 30 more, stir, etc.).  Remove balls from fridge and dip in chocolate.  Return to fridge for another 30 minutes so chocolate has time to harden.

If you’re not serving these immediately, keep them in the refrigerator.

4 thoughts on “Crunchy Buckeyes

  1. ohh the cookie table. please figure out how to make the mint flavored ball thingy too (yes that is a technical term) and then i will copy your recipe! :-)

  2. Pingback: Lenten Dates (or, I haven’t gotten any better at dipping things in chocolate) | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

