Snack Responsibly

My husband doesn’t like to watch certain movies with me because I will recite every single line right along with the characters.  Beauty and the Beast, A League of Their Own, 10 Things I Hate About You, and Mean Girls, are just a few titles on the “off limits” list.  The first time I saw Mean Girls, it gave voice to so many of my inner-most thoughts, it was all I could do not to commit the lines to memory the first time around.
“She’s a life ruiner!”

“I’m a mouse…duh”

“Ohmigod I love your skirt, where did you get it?”

“Boo, you whore!”

and most importantly, “Girls who eat their feelings.”

Ladies, gentlemen, I am a girl who eats my feelings.  I just didn’t know it until I saw Mean Girls.

It certainly explains all the brownies.

So earlier this year, I started trying to eat more green things, and fewer chocolate things.  It’s been an uphill battle, to say the least.  Because around 3:00 every day, I get hungry and I need a snack.  Yes, I am 27, and I still need an after school snack.  But look!  I found a green one!  One I can eat with no guilt!  And one that still tastes like I should feel guilty about it.  Roasted Edamame with Cranberries.  From Tracy Shutterbean!

To make enough for a week’s worth of snacking, you will need:

  • 1 1/2 C edamame (I use frozen, and thaw it first)
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • coarse salt
  • 1/3 C dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with foil.  Toss edamame with olive oil on prepared sheet, and sprinkle salt on top.  Roast for 20-22 minutes, giving the mixture a toss about halfway through.  When finished, the edamame should be brown and some of the skin should look crinkly.  Let cool and toss with cranberries.  Per Tracy’s suggestion, I threw mine in a jar and shook it up.

3 thoughts on “Snack Responsibly

  1. I also need an afternoon snack. every.single.day. This looks yum…though I much prefer to eat my feelings in the form of ice cream or cupcakes…

Leave a Reply

