December Daily

scrapbooking

christmas trees

rice krispies

grading

sunset

selfie

auburn fan

december dailying

christmas sheets

wrapping

sunrise

card wall

I hope your December isn’t too hectic.

I hope you’re finding some joy in the annual baking of the cookies/mailing of the cards/buying of the gifts/wrapping of the gifts/whatever it is that seems to eat up all the time in December.  I’m working on a December Daily album, inspired by the amazingly talented Ali Edwards, and I have to say, it’s helping me slow down just a bit, and look for the best in each day.

sprouts

I’ve been struggling to come up with ideas for my Christmas menu, but through some emailing with Wooden Nickels, we decided that if nothing else, we’d have brussels sprouts.  My husband and I have been eating these at least once a week, so I was looking for a new twist to add variety to our lives.  I came across citrus and pomegranate brussels sprouts from the ladies behind A Beautiful Mess, and I knew that was our next recipe.  We are suckers for a good pomegranate anything, and the fresh crunch they provide would certainly be a far cry from the deep, smoky, bacon crunch we’re used to.

They hit the table, and the spot, last night.

To make citrus and pomegranate brussels sprouts that probably feed 4, unless I’m there and then it feeds 2 (I eat a lot of brussels sprouts), you will need:

  • 6 – 7 C halved brussels sprouts*
  • 1/2 C panko
  • 1/2 C pomegranate aerils
  • juice of half a lemon
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Place brussels sprouts on a baking sheet, drizzle with a tablespoon or two of olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and toss to coat.  Roast brussels sprouts for 12 minutes, shake the pan to redistribute all those flavores, and roast another 12 minutes.

While brussels sprouts are cooking, heat 1 T olive oil in small skillet.  Add panko, stirring constantly until crumbs are toasted, and a golden brown color.  Remove from heat immediately and set aside.

Transfer brussels sprouts to serving dish, and squeeze a tablespoon or two of lemon juice over top.  Toss with breadcrumbs and pomegranate aerils, and serve immediately.

*A tip I got from my girl Ina–Don’t discard those outer leaves that flake off as you cut your brussels sprouts in half.  Save ‘em, roast ‘em right alongside the bigger pieces.  They crisp up, kale-chip style, and you’ll be in heaven over the results.

One thought on “December Daily

Leave a Reply

