Last Meal-Worthy Pizza [white pizza with spinach and bacon]

In the last couple months, I’ve become scary obsessed with Jess’s blog.  I always knew it existed.  I’ve checked in on her now and again for years.  But something she’s doing now is speaking to my heart.  My stomach?  I don’t know, I just know that I want to make all her food.  Five minutes ago.

Like Brussels Sprouts Caesar Salad with Bacon Ciabatta Croutons.  Yes and yes.

Or 30 Minute Portobello Fried Brown Rice.  Hello, weeknight meal.

Or White Pizza with Spinach and Bacon.

It’s one of those dishes that kind of speaks for itself.  I mean, there’s bacon.  Also, I made it about a week after she blogged it.  Whenever that happens, you know I’m serious.  And I didn’t even snap a photo quick enough before it was gone.  It more or less looks like this.

white pizza with spinach and bacon

Plus those three bites missing from the corner.  Plus a whole bunch of other slices.

To make White Pizza with Spinach and Bacon, you will need:

  • 1 pizza crust (we always have one or two from Trader Joe’s in the freezer)
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 8 oz. fresh spinach leaves
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2/3 C ricotta cheese
  • 1 C freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3/4 C shredded mozzarella

Preheat oven to whatever your pizza crust directions say.

Cook bacon in skillet.  If you’re a fan of crispy bacon, hold back a little bit and don’t take it all the way to blackened.  It’s still headed to the oven later.  Take the bacon out to drain on paper towels, and drain all but about 1-2 T fat from the skillet.

With the stove still hot, add spinach and garlic, and toss till wilted.  Remove from heat and set aside.  Spinach + bacon fat = smart.

Get your pizza dough rolled or stretched out just the way you like it and spread the olive oil over top.  Place dollops of ricotta cheese all over crust.  Top with Parmesan and mozzarella.  Place spinach all over the pizza, and crumble bacon on top of everything.

My pizza crust told me to bake for 8 minutes, but it was more like 15 by the time the edges got golden and the cheese was bubbling.

3 thoughts on “Last Meal-Worthy Pizza [white pizza with spinach and bacon]

  1. Pingback: What I’m Reading | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

