Things I Wanted to Buy But Didn’t

It’s over.

It’s done.

I gave up shopping for 3 months, and now I can buy whatever I want!

But I’m going to try not to.

Because otherwise what was the point of challenging myself anyway?

And besides, it’s not like I felt deprived for one second because I didn’t have another sweatshirt in my collection.

In hopes that posting some of what I avoided helps fill that void, here are just some of the items, I saw, I loved, and I ultimately walked away from.

sunday sprinkles.

I wanted the Scotch & Soda Home Alone sweater because I wouldn’t just wear it when home alone, I’d wear it always.  Thoughts of this sweatshirt have actually taken up permanent residence in my head, and I wonder what else I’d have space to think about if I just up and bought it already.

I wanted Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant because I was working through a tube of Kiehl’s I didn’t love, and a tube of Burt’s Bees I felt only mildly more excited about.  Didn’t need = didn’t buy.

I wanted Notes from a Blue Bike because I kept hoping the DC Public Library would get a clue and get a copy.  Still holding out on that one, though I know a local MD library could help me out.  I will continue to remind myself that I never read half of what I buy, and I never love half of what I read, so books aren’t a great investment.

I wanted The J.Crew Claremont Perforated Tote in navy.  Gonna call this one the biggest challenge of the whole three months.  I walked away because I have some lovely bags, and I use them often, so I’m not really in want of a bag.  AGOMYR purchased this bag and had the nerve to flaunt it (read: carry it) in front of me a couple times in that three-month window.

I wanted to rent Frozen because everyone who’s anyone was talking about it and I never got to the theaters to see it.  But I said I wasn’t going to buy or rent movies.  Luckily, I hung out with some of my favorite ladies who had recently made the purchase for themselves, so I can now say I’ve seen it.

Bottom line of this crazy ordeal I put myself through?  I can live a perfectly pleasant life with the things I already have.  I might have had to dig deep into my Pinterest quotes board for some inspirational quote to affirm that, but it is the truth.  It’s also important to know that I didn’t walk into a single Anthropologie during those three months.  All bets are off once that changes.

2 thoughts on “Things I Wanted to Buy But Didn’t

  1. What a good challenge to really make you stop and evaluate want vs. need. I’ve had similar experiences in the last couple months knowing that I would be moving — Do I really need this right now? Do I really want to have to pack it and move it? Good job sticking with it!

Leave a Reply

