Hello Dolly/Seven Layer Bars

With three days of work ahead of me this week, I’ll be crossing some baked goods off of my summer “to-make” list.  It should help pass the time during all-day meetings.  First up, seven-layer bars.  Also known as Hello, Dolly bars.  Also known (at least to me) as, use up all of your baked goods and it doesn’t matter because you can’t go wrong bars.

Hello, Dolly Ingredients

In How to be a Domestic Goddess, Nigella says snacks like this “are one of those chewy, fudgy, nutty, crisp bar cookies that the American are so good at.”  I’m glad she puts such faith in us and our bar-cookie-making abilities.  I wonder if she’s ever had a butterscotch applesauce square.  That’s another post entirely.

I used SmittenKitchen’s recipe for these, and made a couple of tweaks based on what I had on hand already.   You will need:

  • 1 stick of butter, melted
  • 1 ½ C graham cracker crumbs (for me, this worked out to one of the plastic packages that comes in the box)
  • ½ C white chocolate chips
  • 1 C milk chocolate chips
  • 1 C shredded coconut
  • ½ can of sweetened condensed milk
  • If I were you, I would throw some nuts in for crunch.  But I didn’t have any.

Preheat the oven to 350.

Melt a stick of butter in a small saucepan.

Melt Butter

Clean all the pesto out of your mini-food processor, and pulse up some graham crackers.  I had cinnamon graham crackers, which made this deadly sweet concoction that much deadlier.  Steer clear of them for these purposes.

Graham Cracker Crust

Dump them in with the melted butter, and stir.

Press your graham cracker crust into the bottom of an 8 x 8 pan.

Now start layering the chips and coconut and nuts, if you have them.  Pour the condensed milk on top of that.  It will look goopy and weird, but the milk will settle in as the bars bake.

Layers

More Layers

Final Layer

Bake for 25 minutes.

Here comes the sad part.  You have to cool the bars completely before you cut them.  And waiting for them to cool off will be a challenge.  But it will be worth it when you bite into this sweet little treat.

Hello Dolly

I’ve seen lots of recipes for these that use different amounts of different ingredients, so see what you like.

One thought on “Hello Dolly/Seven Layer Bars

  1. Pingback: Salty and Sweet « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

