Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

If you haven’t read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle yet, it’s time.  No, really.  This is the perfect time of year to read Barbara Kingsolver’s nonfiction narrative all about eating seasonally and locally.

avm

“Most of us agree to put away our sandals and bikinis when the leaves start to turn, even if they’re our favorite clothes.  We can learn to apply similar practicality to our foods.”

Well, when you put it that way….

I read this book in February.  Since I had not canned anything at the end of the previous summer, I was out of luck in terms of finding enough local, seasonal produce to sustain me through the winter months.  But I vowed to find a local farmer’s market when the warmer months hit.

And find one I did.  Right down the street, in fact.  I wish you could smell these peaches.  I wish you could taste this corn.  I want you to pop one of their cherry tomatoes in your mouth.  And the blueberries.  Oh, the blueberries.

But you probably don’t live here.  So you’ll have to read the book.  We can have that in common.  Barbara Kingsolver is a woman who understands cooking and has a respect for the food she serves.  As you follow her family through their year of eating, you’ll notice that her book stops being about food and starts focusing on a way of life.  It’s about taking time to eat as a family, and being mindful of how you nourish yourself.  I found it pretty easy to get on board with the Kingsolver clan.

So though I still eat bananas and key limes, and I purchase skim milk at a big chain supermarket, Kingsolver has me thinking much more about how and what I eat.  What’s for dinner tonight?  Orzo with roasted vegetables, most of which are locally grown.

Produce

One thought on “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

  1. Orzo with roasted veggies is the most delicious thing ever!!! Thanks for omitting the chicken for the vegetarian in the family!!!

Leave a Reply

