Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

If you’re looking for some cupcake inspiration, there are about 8 million blogs you could visit.

I like Love and Olive Oil.  This girl just made 300 cupcakes for her own wedding!  And she has lots of fun flavors and recipes.  I saw her strawberry lemonade cupcakes, and knew I had to try them.

Is there a better way to show up at someone's house than with cupcakes and champagne?

Is there a better way to show up at someone’s house than with cupcakes and champagne?

But I’m in my beach kitchen and the grocery store here doesn’t want to hear about things like coconut milk.  So I got crafty and made my own, taking two recipes that I had wanted to try and putting them together.

Lemon Yogurt Cupcakes (from Recipezaar)

Makes 12

  • 1 ¼ C of flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 C sugar
  • ½ C butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 egg
  • ½ C plain yogurt
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 3 T lemon juice (fresh is a must…you’ve already zested the lemon)

Preheat the oven to 350.

Mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl until combined.

In a large bowl, mix the sugar and butter until combined.  Beat in the egg, then add the yogurt, zest and lemon juice.

Slowly add the dry ingredients, and stir until they are incorporated.

Fill the muffin tins and bake for 22 minutes.

Let the cupcakes cool before frosting them.

To go with the cupcakes I made Sprinkles Cupcakes Strawberry Frosting because I adore Sprinkles Cupcakes.  When I found out you didn’t have to strain the strawberry puree in this recipe, I was sold!  You can read the recipe, or you can watch Candace Nelson make it herself!

Sprinkles Strawberry Frosting

(makes more than enough for 12 cupcakes)

  • ½ C fresh strawberries
  • 1 C butter, softened until your finger leaves an imprint…NOT at room temperature (if it’s important to Candace, it’s important to me)
  • pinch of coarse salt
  • 3 ½ C confectioners’ sugar sifted
  • ½ tsp vanilla

Give the strawberries a rough chop, and puree them in a blender or food processor (I like the blender, it’s easier to clean).

Cream the butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.

Slowly add the confectioners’ sugar.

Add the vanilla.

And add 3 T of the strawberry puree (I ended up adding more because I wanted a stronger strawberry flavor, and the frosting needed a little more liquid help).

Spread on your cupcakes.

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

The frosting is delicious.  You can’t beat the fresh strawberry flavor.  But I think a lemon glaze (1 C of confectioners sugar mixed with enough fresh lemon juice till it’s drizzly) would have been better for these particular cupcakes.  They’re just too light for a buttery frosting.

You can bet as soon as I can get my hands on coconut milk, I’ll be making some more strawberry lemonade cupcakes.

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Catch Up « a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: Cupcake Fest 2009 « a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: Perfect Party Cupcakes « a glass of milk

  4. Pingback: Happiness is a Full Dishwasher | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

