Volt

I ate at Volt about two weeks ago.  This was a long time in the making, and I kept thinking, I’m going to blog about this.  But I’ve been resting on my laurels because I just can’t think of what to tell you.   I’m no Colicchio, and I don’t normally have an amuse in between courses.  I love to cook, but I’m no foodie.

I did have a wonderful time.  And Bryan himself came out to serve the people at the table next to mine!  I brought my camera, but it stayed safely in my clutch throughout the entire meal.  It was a small and quiet dining room and I didn’t want to be that girl.

The day of our reservation we got a call about sitting in the chef’s kitchen for a six course tasting.  Where was my phone?  Dead, dead, dead.  I bet I could have gotten my picture in the chef’s kitchen.  Life lesson:  never turn off a cell phone.

Here’s what I do know:

The atmosphere was pleasant…I don’t mean that in a trite way, it was just calm and lovely.

The cocktail was sugary.

The beet macaroon with a foie gras mousse was as gross at it sounded (at least to my middle class palate).

The menu was seasonal.  Love.

The summer squash soup was divine.  And served in the dishes I registered for!

The goat cheese ravioli was a little much.

Bryan’s striped bass was cooked to perfection, and I don’t usually order fish.

I scraped every last grain of saffron-infused Arborio rice off of my plate.

I should have ordered a dessert with chocolate instead of fruit.

Since I am an incessant people watcher, much to the dismay of my dinner company, I can also report that everyone who eats at Volt feels they know enough to be a restaurant critic.

And finally, if Bryan is Top Chef, I will be able to say “I ate there when…”

Leave a Reply

