Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

As soon as I saw all of the drizzling, icky rain that greeted us when we returned home yesterday afternoon, I knew it would be a soup night.    The stars aligned when I found out my husband was going out in the evening.  Yes, I know we’ve only been married a week, but you see, he doesn’t like butternut squash and he doesn’t like pumpkin.

React.

OK, are you ready to keep going?  Somehow I found a mate who doesn’t eat two staple fall ingredients!  I had to use the night to my advantage.  I knew just where to turn.

cookbook holder

I made Ina’s butternut squash and apple soup.  I’ll let you take a look at the recipe for yourself, but I will tell you a few things.

First, the cookbook holder is proving to be quite the useful wedding gift.

But about the soup.  The soup is simple enough, but there is some definite prep work involved–peeling and dicing the squash and the apples.  Online, this soup has gotten mixed reviews.  It is butternut squash and APPLE soup, and that makes it sweeter than others.   There are two things I do to try and combat this.

1.  I load up on salt when I sauté the onions.  This is the best bet in terms of beefing up the flavor.

2.  I stir in some Parmesan cheese at the very end.  After I’ve cooked everything, and turned off the flame, I dump some in, give it a stir, and let the cheese melt into the soup.

butternut squash and apple soup

Also, the type of apple you use will change the flavor a bit.  An apple like a gala is going to be more on the bland side, while a granny smith will certainly add some pucker to your mouth.  Play around and see which kind you like.

Leave a Reply

