Pumpkin Muffins…the Verdict

Today I broke in my brand new muffin tins.  I wonder if there is anyone out there who can identify with my unadulterated love of pots, pans, bakeware, and all things kitchen.  I was so excited about these tins—they’re so much more than tins really.  They are dark, they’re not too shiny, and they hold a dozen cupcakes.  You can get a whole batch of yummy goodness out of just one pan!  But I also love that they will, in time, become worn away.  There will be spots where the batter spills over the top of the cup and no matter how many times I wash the pan, it will not look as perfect again.  It will hold my cupcakes, and it will hold my story.

Muffin Tins

OK, that’s going a little too far.

But I was really excited to use them.  Especially to make pumpkin muffins.

The first thing I did was dump a can of pumpkin in my mixing bowl.  I am totally the type to want to try and roast my own pumpkin and create my own pumpkin puree.  And in fact, there was a time when I had every intention of doing just that.  Then I picked up a can of pumpkin and read the ingredient label.

Pumpkin = Pumpkin

I’m over the homemade pumpkin puree now.

I whisked in the other wet ingredients by hand.  Sometimes (especially when creamed butter is not involved), it just feels better to mix things yourself.

I sifted the dry ingredients together and began incorporating them with the wet.  There is something so satisfying about watching those two meet.

 

Dry Ingredients

Mixed Together

Cupcake Scooper

Then, into the oven for 25 minutes at 350.

And remember when I said I was going to try not to add chocolate chips?  Well I stuck with my guns.  I always, always, always (almost always) follow a recipe to the T the first time I make it.  Next time?  I’ll throw in the chocolate.  It’s not going to kill anyone.

Muffin Tins II

 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins…the Verdict

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Up To | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

