Eh, It’s OK [lasagna rolls, pot roast, butternut squash risotto]

When you write a blog about cooking, you want to share the best recipes possible.  So what happens when you make something that’s good, but not great?

Do you post the recipe?  Share the pictures?

Sure, why not.

Here is a lot of what’s come out of my kitchen lately…

Each of these recipes is good.  I didn’t love any of them, but maybe it was my palate or perhaps a misstep in the kitchen.  I won’t expound, but I’ll give you the links, so you can see them for yourself.

Giada’s Lasagna Rolls.  A fun alternative to regular lasagna.  I did a vegetarian version with ricotta and spinach and it was a little plain.  The prosciutto Giada calls for might give this dish the kick in the pants it needs.  Perhaps stepping up the Parmesan cheese would do the trick too.

Ina’s Company Pot Roast.  Wait, do I really not love one of Ina’s recipes?  I might have to try it again to make sure.

Yes, my mise en place includes cheese and crackers.  Whose doesn’t?

Butternut Squash and Vanilla Risotto.   I think I need to stick to savory butternut squash dishes.  I just can’t handle recipes that bring out its sweetness.

If one of these appeals to you, give it a whirl.  Let me know where I went wrong, and how I can fix it!

Leave a Reply

