Gingerbread Biscotti

About a week ago, I went to my in-laws for dinner.  Not wanting to arrive empty handed, I scanned my “winter” recipe file to look for the perfect cookie.  As soon as I saw it, I knew.  Gingerbread Biscotti would be perfect!  It was keeping with the season, and I don’t really like biscotti, so I knew I wouldn’t eat it all.

WRONG!

This is delicious.  We had three pieces that didn’t fit on the serving plate, and I polished off two.  Dunked in milk these were exactly what December ordered.  To be completely honest, next time I make them, I’m leaving the chocolate chips and chocolate coating out.  This is so unlike me, but I really felt they detracted from the gingerbread flavor.  I’m pretty sure we don’t know each other well enough for you to trust me on this one yet.  There are few people who I would trust enough to take chocolate out of a cookie recipe.  So make this with chocolate and decide for yourself.

Thanks to Annie’s Eats for the idea.

*ps… Lately, I’ve not had the patience to deal with waiting for butter to soften.  It takes so much longer in the winter (I know, I’m whining), so much of what I’ve been baking up requires either melted butter, or no butter at all.  This recipe falls into the latter category.

You will need:

  • 1 ¼ C flour
  • 1 C wheat flour (Hello!  Health food!)
  • 1 ¼ C packed, dark brown sugar (but I wouldn’t hold it against you if you used light)
  • 1 ¼ t baking powder
  • ¼ t baking soda
  • ½ t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • ¼ t nutmeg
  • 1 bag Hershey’s cinnamon chips (I used chocolate because I couldn’t find the cinnamon)
  • ¼ C molasses
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 C chocolate chips, or other melting chocolate (I used white, I thought it would look nicer)

Preheat the oven to 350.

Combine all the ingredients, except the last 3 in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, combine the molasses and eggs, and beat till combined.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix till just combined.

Split the dough in half and form into 2, 10 x 4 inch logs on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake for 30 minutes, and let cool for 10.

Slice your logs into about ¾ inch pieces on the diagonal (it just looks prettier this way).  Separate the slices on the baking sheet, and put the cookies back in the oven for 10 more minutes.

Let the cookies cool completely before moving on to the next step.

Melt the chocolate in the microwave.  That works something like this 30 seconds, stir, 30 seconds, stir, 30 seconds, stir, melted.

Dip the biscotti.

This is one of my new favorite holiday cookies.

5 thoughts on “Gingerbread Biscotti

  1. Glad you enjoyed these! Just a tip on using butter in baking – I never wait for mine to come to room temp. I just zap it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds and it works wonderfully.

  2. Pingback: Holiday Baking | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

