Holy Nikon, Batman!

My friend Lauren comes over to celebrate Christmas with my family every year.  This year, she brought her dad’s Nikon.  I’m in love.  We didn’t even really know how to use it and the photos turned out better than any I’ve ever taken with my humble point-and-shoot.

Did you leave anything for Santa?  We had two big plates of cookies here.  I made peppermint bark as well, since I can’t justify spending $25.00 on something I can make with two bags of chocolate chips and some crushed up candy canes.  It tastes exactly like the bark from Williams Sonoma and for less than half the cost.  Sandra Lee would be so proud.

I took some photos in the process of making this back in my apartment, but they pale in comparison to the Nikon, so you’ll only get a shot of the finished product.

You’ll need 10-12 ounces of chocolate chips (milk, semi-sweet, dark, use what you like), 10-12 ounces of white chocolate chips, and some crushed up candy canes or peppermints.  I think I used about 8 regular-sized candy canes.

Line a 13×9 pan with a sheet of parchment paper, and spray with cooking spray.

Melt the chocolate first in a microwave-safe bowl.  I do this in thirty-second increments, stirring in between.

Pour the chocolate into the pan and spread with a spatula until you have a nice, even layer.

Refrigerate for 30 minutes, until the chocolate is still a little sticky to the touch.

Next, repeat the same process for the white chocolate, sprinkling the candy cane bits on top before refrigerating for another 30 minutes.  Add more peppermint pieces than you think you want, since some of it will break off when you break the bark into pieces.

Once the bark has set in the refrigerator, pull off the parchment paper and start breaking.  This is all about free form.  The perfect thing about this bark (besides the chocolate-peppermint flavor combo) is that some pieces will be bite-sized and some will make nice, big dessert-sized pieces.  And neither size will last very long.

Leave a Reply

