Disaster!

If you’re looking for a festive New Year’s Eve dessert, a glass of milk is not the place for you today.

Sadly, in our kitchen, we played host to another disaster.  I made The Barefoot Contessa’s Raspberry Orange Trifle, but proved I still have some work to do when it comes to making pastry cream.

I think the pillbox adds a nice touch, don’t you?  There’s my custard, hanging out at the bottom of the trifle bowl.

Here is what Ina says to do:
“With the mixer on low speed, slowly pour the hot milk mixture into the egg mixture. Pour the mixture back into the pan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens, about 5 to 7 minutes. (Pay attention because it will thicken and then quickly become orange scrambled eggs!) ”

I let fear get the better of me and was afraid to turn up the flame too much.  So I stirred at the stove like a fool for quite a long time.  I chilled the pastry cream to no avail, so I even put it back in the saucepan and tried stirring it again over a higher flame.  It looked thicker this time, but alas, between the time I put the trifle together and the time it was ready to serve, it had all fallen to the bottom of the dish.

The flavors were all there, but I am still adding this trifle to my list of recipes yet to be conquered.

2 thoughts on “Disaster!

  1. It looks delicious! There’s nothing like berries with chilled, freshly whipped cream! And I’m sure the pastry cream tasted good, even if it 😦 sank.

  2. Pingback: Pink and Green « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

