On the Treadmill

No, literally.

I need to be on the treadmill after eating those brownies.  With all of this snow nonsense I haven’t been able to get outside to move around, so I’m stuck on the treadmill.  It’s not my favorite place to be.  I make little deals with myself the whole time I’m running, like, “No looking at the clock till the end of this song.”  Which means my workout playlist has got to be good in order to keep me going.

So since I inundate your Google Reader with posts about sweets, here’s the trade off post to even the score.  Work out songs I couldn’t run without.  What this list may lack in musical talent, it makes up for in beats per minute.

Beyonce – Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)  is the perfect start


Cascada – Every Time We Touch.  Would you judge me if I told you this song has been on my iPod for years and is one of my all time most played?

The Killers – Mr. Brightside.  This is when I knew I had to add it.

Hopefully by now you’ve hit a stride and you’re ready for Boston’s Foreplay/Long Time.  This song was originally on my I-95 playlist, and it works as well on the treadmill as it does on the open road.  Bonus is that it’s almost 8 minutes long.  You’re almost there!

Kanye West – Stronger.  Think of it as Jock Jams for the new decade.

Black Eyed Peas – Pump It.  You knew Fergie and Co. would make an appearance, right?  It was a given.

I am convinced that the 80’s existed solely to give us music to run to.  My fave is Eddie Money’s Take Me Home Tonight.

But if the 80’s existed to give us workout songs, it’s only because ABBA paved the way in the 70’s.  My pick?  Mamma Mia.  Although Dancing Queen isn’t bad either.

And for your final sprint, Linkin Park – Bleed It Out.  No matter how tired I am, I can always pick up the pace during this song.

Happy running!  Back to cupcakes and sweets soon!

3 thoughts on “On the Treadmill

  1. Good heavens, where’s Michael Jackson? “Billy Jean,” in addition to being the best rock’n’roll song ever, is perfect for keeping a good clip going on the t-mill. Also, “Thriller,” “Shake Your Body” (WELL, that’s what you DO on the treadmill!, “Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough,” “The Way You Make Me Feel.” Well, I could go on. Now, let’s back up a bit. What about “Funkytown”? Donna Summer? (“On the Radio,” “Hot Stuff,” “Last Dance”! Ok, who knew that after I ate all your delicious treats, you would make me get on the treadmill? Great job with your blog! Wish I could sit down to dinner at your house every night!

  2. Pingback: Playlist 2.0 « a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: The Definitive Glass of Milk Running Playlist* | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

