The Icing on the Cake [perfectly chocolate chocolate frosting]

Have you ever made Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Frosting?

“PERFECTLY CHOCOLATE” CHOCOLATE FROSTING

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
2/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. Makes about 2 cups frosting.

I hadn’t either, until I googled a recipe for chocolate icing and this is what came up.  I read through the recipe, and I was intrigued.  Melt the butter and stir in a whole bunch of cocoa powder and sugar?  That didn’t sound like any frosting I had ever made.  And as I put it together on Thursday night, I realized that the process was more like making a roux than a frosting.  But in the end, it all came together.  I was worried about adding 1/3 C of milk to the mix.  Would it thin out too much, leaving me with a chocolate sauce?   Not at all.  The only kitchen tools I needed for this latest endeavor were measuring cups, a pan and a wooden spoon.  I didn’t use my stand mixer.  Heck, I didn’t even need my offset spatula to create nice little icing swirls.

The taste, however, was not top-notch.  Not bad, mind you, just not as chocolatey as I need my chocolate frosting to be.  I might try this with dutch processed cocoa next time, and perhaps add some coffee to brighten up the flavor.  But frosting without a stand mixer?  Count me in!

One thought on “The Icing on the Cake [perfectly chocolate chocolate frosting]

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Frosting | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

