Pancakes, Passed Down [edna mae’s sour cream pancakes]

You may be wondering, “How there is room for another pancake recipe on this site?”  Isn’t it enough to have the basic and best buttermilk pancake recipes in your repertoire?  Put simply, no.  We take our weekend breakfasts seriously, and this pancake takes breakfast in a new direction.  And besides, it’s from Ree’s husband’s grandma.  I love a recipe that has survived generations.

*These are oddly shaped because the skillet in which I cook my pancakes is way too small, but I’m stubborn and I like it and I’m not using a different one.

While my husband likes plain pancakes, I’ve never met one that couldn’t be helped out by a couple of chocolate chips.  He told me the pancakes were delicious.  I told him I wasn’t sure.  When I heated up the (non-chocolate) leftovers in the toaster oven the next day, I found out what he was talking about.  Because this batter is only held together with 7 T of flour, the chocolate chips (even mini) weigh it down.  Besides, these pancakes have some serious tang from all the sour cream and that really doesn’t mesh well with the chocolate.  So I’m a convert, if only for this one recipe.

Happy brunching!

Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes

from The Pioneer Woman Cooks

7 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/ 2 teaspoon salt
1 cup sour cream
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Butter
Maple syrup

Stir the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt together in the bottom of a medium bowl. Add the sour cream, and stir until just combined.  Lumps are okay in a pancake batter!  Whisk the eggs and vanilla in a small bowl and add to the sour cream mixture.  Resist the urge to add chocolate chips here.

Then it’s pancake time.  Melt a tablespoon of butter in a cast iron, or other skillet.  Let it get nice and hot, but don’t let the butter brown (there’s a fine line between the perfect pancake and burnt butter).  Scoop batter out by the 1/4 cupful, and pour in the skillet.  Cook for a few minutes on the first side, and when bubbles start to appear, flip and cook for just under a minute on the other.

*Don’t be sad if your first pancake doesn’t brown like you want it to.  That’s the test pancake and it’s the one you use to gauge how hot you need the stove, and how long before you flip.  It will still taste fine.  My mom calls me, the first child, her test pancake.

Drown in maple syrup.

2 thoughts on “Pancakes, Passed Down [edna mae’s sour cream pancakes]

  1. love the test pancake. love that your mom calls you that.
    please also enjoy the fact that I am currently making chicken at 10 am so I can finally make c.p.p.

  2. Pingback: Pillow Pancakes « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

