A Photo-Less Weekend? [spaghetti and meatballs]

It’s true.  Lots of good eating, and not a shred of evidence.  Please accept this numbered list of weekend activities coupled with my sincere apologies.

1.  Thursday’s girls’ night out brought me to my first Eric Ripert restaurant, Westend Bistro.  We shared some killer tuna carpaccio and a crab cake that was to die for.  Then I ordered steak from the seafood guy’s restaurant.  I think it had something to do with the truffle fries.  I can’t say no to truffle fries.

2.  Guys weekend cut short = impromptu pity dinner for the boys on Saturday.  Spaghetti and meatballs, Barefoot style.  Although I’ve adapted Ina’s meatballs to suit my tastes,  this is my go-to recipe. You can make it from start to finish in about an hour, maybe even 45 minutes if you’re on top of your game.  This sauce is deceptive.  It only cooks for a half hour but you would never know it hasn’t been simmering all day on the stove.  I use Cento’s organic whole tomatoes and crush them with my bare hands.  It’s a rewarding feeling.

3.  Sunday brunch with the girls (+1 boy) called for some French toast.  I’m not convinced that this trumps freshly made French toast, but I’m willing to give it another go.

4.  Finally, Sunday dinner.  One of my favorite meals of the week.  The bacon leftover from brunch gets thrown into mac & cheese.  I proceed to spend the rest of the evening wondering where that dish has been all my life.

From meal to meal to meal, the weekend was a complete success.  I’ll have to work on grabbing the camera next time.

4 thoughts on “A Photo-Less Weekend? [spaghetti and meatballs]

  1. I enjoy reading your blog, not necessarily because of the food, which is both tasty and delicious… often simply because I like your writing.

  2. Pingback: 22 Recipes Everyone Should Know How to Cook | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

