Keep it Simple [carbonara]

I just had the best dinner I’ve had in a long time.  And it was so simple.  It’s a half step up from spaghetti cacio e pepe which has been getting a lot of blog-love lately.  I’ve been wanting to make it for a while.  And Mark Bittman showed me the way.

Bittman used to be my go-to reference, sort of like an encyclopedia of cooking.  If a recipe didn’t look quite right, I would see what he had to say about it and go from there.  Recently, however, I’ve actually been cooking from this tome, and have yet to be disappointed.  Bittman teaches you everything you need to know to make the basics.  His recipes are great jumping off points.  Tonight, I mastered carbonara, which I had been craving something fierce.  Who knows where I’ll go from here?  Maybe here?

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from all the cooking I’ve done, it’s that simple flavors, seasoned well, beat out long internet searches for fancy ingredients any day.  This carbonara has five ingredients, including pepper.  You can’t beat that with a stick.  Even better is that it’s to die for.  No, really.  I couldn’t stop raving about it in between bites.

Spaghetti (but I like it with Fettucine) Carbonara

*adapted from Mark Bittman

serves 2

  • 4 oz. bacon

  • 8 oz spaghetti or fettuccine (plus a thumb)

  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten

  • 1 C parmesan, grated

  • Lots of freshly ground black pepper

There’s really not much to do.  Fry up the bacon in a skillet.  Cook the pasta.  Beat the eggs in with the parmesan in a large serving bowl.  As soon as the spaghetti is done, add it to the serving bowl.  The hot pasta will cook the egg sauce ever-so-slightly.  Toss with bacon.  Add lots of freshly ground pepper, and garnish with even more cheese.  This is not the time to add green for garnish.  Go with what you have in front of you and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Keep it Simple [carbonara]

  1. Pingback: Yogurt Carbonara for One, for Two « a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: A Two Bite Trip | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

