Yellow Food [fontina and vegetable frittata]

At some point during the course of my childhood, my mother made a strikingly accurate observation about my diet.

It is often yellow in color.

One night, she realized I had eaten a completely yellow breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Sure, all the nutrition gurus tell you to eat the rainbow and that’s something I keep tucked in my mind as I plan my meals, but given the choice I’d stick with yellow food.

Yellow is pasta.  Yellow is lemonade.  Yellow is cheese.

And I have been eating a lot of yellow lately.

First, the pasta.  Can I let you in on another of my neuroses?  I buy different brands of pasta depending on the shape.  Sometimes, I try and let it go; telling myself that there is no difference between Barilla and DeCecco (my favorite brands) and San Giorgio and Ronzoni.  But I think there is.

Take, for example, my absolute most favorite Barilla pasta, Macaroni.


This is so much better than your typical macaroni noodle.  It does more than arc, it twists.  And it has ridges to pick up the bechamel in your mac and cheese.  Can’t you see it?

Barilla was on sale at the grocery store and now I may or may not be set for life when it comes to macaroni, spaghetti, angel hair, fettucini, farfalle, penne and orzo.

Please stop giving me that look.  I can feel it through the screen.

On to some new yellow foods.

Taking a cue from Taylor and Lindsay, I ransacked my fridge in hopes of using up my starting-to-look-a-little-tired spinach and an overripe tomato.  Oh, and the Fontina left over from my new favorite sandwich.

I looked at as many frittata recipes as I could get my hands on and came up with this for dinner:

  • 6 eggs
  • 2-3 C stuff (I used a combination of spinach and tomatoes but you could throw in broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, really, whatever you want)
  • 6ish oz. of cheese (Fontina for me, because I forgot to save it for this) small-diced or shredded
  • salt
  • pepper
  • olive oil for the pan (mine was not non-stick)
  • basil or some other herb you have to mix in and/or use as garnish

Preheat the oven to 400.  Take the 2-3 C stuff and cook it in the olive oil, with a little salt and pepper, if it’s something that needs cooking (broccoli, asparagus and mushrooms need a little bit of cooking, tomatoes don’t).  Whisk the eggs with some salt and pepper in a bowl and pour over the skillet (which should be on medium-low heat right now).  Throw in the rest of your stuff (tomatoes, herbs, anything you didn’t cook off), and top with cheese.  Cook for 10-15 minutes until the frittata is almost cooked through.  Finish in the oven for 5-10 minutes.

I enjoy pasta-based frittatas more (especially this one), but if you have a lot of food that’s about to go bad, an eggs-only frittata is the way to go.  It could not be more low-maintenance and reheats beautifully for breakfast and lunch.  Put your own spin on the recipe and let me know how things go!

2 thoughts on “Yellow Food [fontina and vegetable frittata]

  1. please come home and make a pasta frittata for your mother immediately! now . . . i’ve heard that you had macaroni and cheese for breakfast for 10 years, from age 7 through senior year of high school–is this true?

  2. Pingback: I’m Gonna Be Honest [shepherd’s pie] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

