Seeing Yellow (yep, again) [grilled cheese with apples]

Most of my weekend lunches are yellow.  Because most of my weekend lunches look like this:

Farfalline with butter and Parmesan.  I think this might make the cut for my hypothetical last meal.  Although, if forced to choose, I think my last meal would look more like a last smorgasbord.

This week, I tried a different yellow lunch, and was pleased with my concoction.  Well, it’s not my concoction.  Ever heard of grilled cheese and apples?  I hadn’t until a coworker made some at work and let me try one.  Apparently this sandwich is a big deal to a lot of people.  That particular sandwich, however, was the work version, made in a small toaster oven, with American cheese and canned apple pie filling.  So I was intrigued by it, but not yet convinced it was good eats.  A little googling led me to this.

Now we’re talking.

*Disclaimer*  I am a grilled cheese snob, having grown up in a house where sourdough and extra sharp white cheddar were revered.  My mom still makes me one of her famous WFGCSs (World Famous Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, duh!) every time I come home.  So the bar is set high.

And this sandwich (yes, I realize I recently told you I wasn’t really a sandwich person and proceeded to post two sandwich recipes in one week, so maybe I didn’t realize I actually am a sandwich person) did not disappoint.  The sweet/savory combination really worked here, because the sweet was not enough to overpower the savory.  And that’s exactly how I like it.

Caramelized Apple and Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

*serves 2

For the caramelized apples:

  • 2 T butter
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and cut into 1/8 inch slices

Melt the butter in a non-stick pan.  Add the sugar and cinnamon and cook until bubbly.  Add the apples and saute until tender, about 5 minutes.

For the sandwich:

  • 4 slices good bread (I like sourdough, but you might like white.  Wheat is not an option.)
  • extra sharp white Cheddar cheese, sliced thin (if your store brand doesn’t make it, use Cabot, or Cracker Barrel.  Orange cheese is not an option–they don’t make it that sharp)
  • butter

Butter one side of each slice of bread.  Layer the slices of cheese on two of the slices of bread (on the sides without the butter).  Pile some apples on top of the cheese.  Place the other two slices of bread atop your two sandwiches in progress (again, butter on the outside).  Smush down a little.  Better for the apples to fall out now and you catch them, then letting them waste away in the skillet.

Heat a 12 inch skillet anywhere between medium-low and medium.  I’ve lived with 6 different stoves and each has its own best setting.  Place the sandwiches in the skillet, cover and cook for about two minutes per side, until golden brown and crunchy.

I had a few apples leftover, and that was not a bad thing.  Because the other night I ate roasted asparagus and a vanilla ice cream and caramelized apple sundae for dinner!  Yum!

2 thoughts on “Seeing Yellow (yep, again) [grilled cheese with apples]

  1. Pingback: Quick Hello and an Appetizer « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

