Oh, Dorie! [oatmeal chocolate drops]

Thank you Dorie Greenspan, for brightening my kitchen yesterday evening.  Before making your cookies, it had been in a little bit of a slump.  Didn’t read the reviews before making these, which proved to be a mistake, and I wasn’t too crazy about this either.

But these?  Oh, these quickly shot up the ranks as one of my my favorite-and-I-didn’t-think-I-even-liked-cookies-that-much-cookie.  Where World Peace Cookies have just enough salt to make them stand out, these have a half teaspoon of cinnamon that is subtle, yet unmistakeable.  Dorie, you’ve done it again.

Unfortunately for me, I have to fit into this in a few short days

*Image from bananarepublic.com

thus limiting my intake of Oatmeal Chocolate Drops.  Today is supporting services appreciation day at work so my appreciation will be shown via these chocolate cookies.  Can you think of a better way?

A note about this cookie batter:  You will add the dry ingredients to the wet and you will not believe that the mixture you’ve whisked together will be thick enough to yield a cookie.  Then you will stir in 1 1/2 C of oats, and somehow, it will work itself out.  Have faith in Dorie.

Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

*from Baking:  From my Home to Yours, by Dorie Greenspan

On a Tuesday, but not for TWD 🙂

  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 1/2 C cocoa powder (I’ve done my research and Dorie doesn’t care whether you use Dutch processed or not.  That makes me like her even more!)
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 C (2 sticks) butter, cut into 16 pieces
  • 1 T water
  • 1 1/2 C brown sugar, packed
  • 9 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped (but I used chips, because I use what I have)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 C oats

Preheat the oven to 350.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl.  Set a large bowl over a pot of simmering water and melt the butter, water, brown sugar and chocolate.  Remove from heat, whisk in the eggs.  Stir in the dry ingredients.  Add the oats and mix the batter until it’s combined.

Drop tablespoons of batter onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper or silpats.  Dorie recommends leaving about 2 inches between cookies and I’m right there with her.  These spread out a lot.

Bake for 12 minutes, rotating the cookie sheets halfway through baking.  Let cool for several minutes (till the gooey centers have set a little) on the cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack.  See how long you can wait before digging in.

3 thoughts on “Oh, Dorie! [oatmeal chocolate drops]

Leave a Reply

