Salad, Part Three [arugula with pear, red onion, and parmesan]

Add another salad to the ever-growing list of salads I thoroughly enjoy.  This one may beat out my spinach and parmesan salad only because it has a much better combination of flavors.  I don’t think it can beat Caprese salad in July though.  I don’t think anything can.

The good news is, it’s not July, so I can eat this to tide me over until summer tomatoes are in season.  My mother in law ate a salad much like this when she was in a restaurant, recreated it the past two times I ate with her, and went so far as to give me a pear so I could make it myself.  I had everything else I needed between our fridge and our pantry.

What I don’t have for you is a recipe.  It’s a salad, so use as little or much of the ingredients as you like*.  I will tell you not to leave out any one component though.  The balance of flavors and textures is absolutely perfect.  I like to make sure I have a little bit of everything all in one bite.  We’ll call it arugula salad with pear, red onion and Parmesan.  Clever, no?

Arugula Salad with Pear, Red Onion and Parmesan

adapted from my mother-in-law who adapted it from some restaurant

  • Arugula, or other spring mix of salad greens (Don’t let the spinach I used fool you.  That was just what we had on hand)
  • Red onion, thinly sliced or finely chopped
  • Pear, sliced thin
  • Parmesan shavings
  • EVOO
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Put as much of the greens, onion and pear as you want in a salad bowl and toss them around.  Top with shavings of Parmesan cheese.  To make a balsamic vinaigrette combine two parts olive oil with one part balsamic vinegar.  Sprinkle in salt and pepper to taste.  Whisk until combined and dress the salad.

That’s it.  There’s a finals-friendly recipe if I’ve ever seen one.

*In case you were wondering, I like a decent amount of pear and Parmesan (which, by the way, is an absolutely incredible combination that I’m sorry I wasted a quarter of a century living without) and a smaller amount of onion.

3 thoughts on “Salad, Part Three [arugula with pear, red onion, and parmesan]

  1. this sounds like my kind of salad.
    I also enjoy apples, crasins, and fetta cheese (which I call “Katie’s Salad, cause she’s the one who fed it to me first, haha) with a similar green/dressing combo to the one you posted. (my mom likes ours better with pears)

  2. Pingback: Signs of Summer « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

