Chocolate at its Best [mocha hot fudge sauce]

Oh my.  Where do I start?  I just had the most intensely chocolate experience.  More chocolatey than Ina’s chocolate cake.  More chocolatey than Dorie’s World Peace Cookies.  And I love those cookies.  But this is chocolate in a different form, and to get the full story, we need to backtrack a little.

My dad is cheap.  Does frugal sound better?  My dad is….no, he’s cheap.  He also loves Breyers Ice Cream.  Something about how it used to be made in Philadelphia and it was all-natural (which it still is, but don’t mention the words Unilever or tara gum in his presence) and that made it the best.  So growing up, we always had it in the freezer.

But.

Breyers is expensive.  So my cheap dad taught us to buy it on sale.  Growing up, we get yelled at if we picked it up when it wasn’t a BOGO.  I know, I still have nightmares.

Fast forward to this morning at the grocery store.  I’m on my weekly shopping trip, picking up ingredients for dinner, when a sign catches my eye.  Breyers on sale.  3 for $6.  If you don’t frequent the ice cream isle, let me tell you that $2 for ice cream is unheard of.

So there are now 3 tubs of Breyers in the freezer.  Because unlike most grocery store sales, I actually had to buy all 3 to get the deal.  Had I bought 1 or 2, they would have cost me $3.00 each.  Unacceptable.  This all leads me to tonight’s dessert.  Mocha Hot Fudge Sauce (courtesy of Joy the Baker, who adapted this from The Gourmet Cookbook, which makes me happy, because I can say I made a recipe I had flagged in a blog, and I used one of my cookbooks).  Perfect for people whose freezer is housing more ice cream than they know what to do with.

I made some of my own adaptations based on the ingredients I had in the pantry.  Every little tweak I made should have compromised the flavor, and yet, it still turned out beautifully.  I would even call it perfect.

And while I can’t be doing this, like sous chef Lauren,

I can at least be doing this

in the comfort of my own home.  But you don’t have to have a plastic Phillies hat to enjoy a sundae.  My husband’s tasted just as good in a Mini Parker Bowl.

Mocha Hot Fudge Sauce

*adapted from Joy the Baker/The Gourmet Cookbook

  • 1/4 C cocoa powder (I don’t have Dutch-processed)
  • 1/3 C brown sugar (nor do I have dark brown)
  • 1/2 C light corn syrup (finally, something I got right)
  • 2/3 C heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 ounces of chopped chocolate (I had milk chocolate chips)
  • 2 T unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp instant espresso powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp hot water

Ready to go?  Combine the first five ingredients and half of the chocolate in a 2 qt. saucepan.  Cook over moderate heat, stirring until the chocolate is melted.  Continue to cook at a low boil, continuing to stir, for about 5 minutes.  This lets the sauce thicken up just a little.

Stir the espresso powder into the hot water.  Off the heat, add the remaining ingredients to the sauce.  Let cool a little bit and the sauce will thicken even more.  Drizzle all over your ice cream.

You know I like Breyers.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate at its Best [mocha hot fudge sauce]

  1. Pingback: I’m Not Baking Desserts « a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

