Department of Redundancy Department [caramelized onion and apple flatbread]

As much as I don’t like cooking the same foods twice, I have noticed patterns in my eating habits over the years.  You already know about my affinity for yellow foods, and if you read closely, you’ll know that lately I’ve developed a special relationship with onions.  It started with onion rings, and continued with caramelized onion pizza.  My mind still reeling over that dish, I had to get my hands on it in as many forms as possible in recent weeks.

I ordered something similar during my last adventure at Liberty Tavern (side note–I was so pleasantly surprised to find that, though I had eaten there only about a month earlier, the menu had completely changed to reflect what is in season now), and made the caramelized onion pizza to top all caramelized onion pizzas the other night.  It is sweet and savory at its best, and it came from Real Simple.  Until I bit into it, I’d forgotten just how much puff pastry is absolute, utter perfection.

To make the tarts, you take two sheets of puff pastry (Hello, Balfour, all-butter puff pastry, I love you!), spread them with a thin layer of sour cream, and top with caramelized onions and barely sauteed, sweet Gala apples.  A sprinkling of salt offsets the sweetness in the apple.  One bite into  this tart and you will understand the phrase “melt in your mouth.”  Perfect for entertaining, or when you want to add some glamor to a regular, humdrum evening.

*as written, the onion to apple ratio is about equal.  Next time, I’d add an onion and take away an apple, but that’s my taste, not necessarily yours.

You will need:

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 medium onions, sliced thin
  • 2 red apples (I used Gala), cut into small pieces
  • Kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • 2 sheets puff pastry (from a 17.3 oz. package), thawed
  • 1/2 C creme fraiche or sour cream (but I think I used a little less)

Heat the oven to 400.  Pour the oil in a skillet until it’s hot, hot, hot.  Add the onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown, about 12-15 minutes (I sometimes find that I need to add more oil as I go).  Stir in the apples, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp peper and cook until just tender, 2 minutes.

Place each sheet of pastry on a parchment-lined baking sheet and prick all over with a fork.  Spread with the sour cream, leaving a border around the edges.  Top with the onion mixture and bake until the pastry is crisp and browned, 30 to 35 minutes.  Cut into pieces before serving.

Leave a Reply

