True Confessions of a Smitten Addict [barley, corn, and haricot vert salad]

I love Smitten Kitchen.  When it comes to food blogs, I firmly believe that there is one woman who will never let you down.  That woman is Deb.  Deb is fearless in the kitchen, has the patience of a saint (or she wouldn’t be making pastries like homemade pop tarts), produced a darn cute child, and more importantly, has never let me down in the kitchen.  Other bloggers and I have had our ups and downs, but not so with Deb.

You know what’s coming, right?

Have you ever read a novel?  Seen a movie?  Can you predict what happens before it happens?

Until now!  It almost feels blasphemous to even suggest that it was Deb whose recipe isn’t right.  It must be me–something I did.

I cooked  some barley, added produce from my favorite local farmstand, whisked together a fabulous vinaigrette and proceeded to ruin a perfectly wonderful salad by adding cups and cups of arugula.  Maybe I had a bad batch, but it was just too bitter for me.  I’m going to try this again with spinach or with mixed greens and see what happens.

And Deb?  I’m sorry!

One thought on “True Confessions of a Smitten Addict [barley, corn, and haricot vert salad]

  1. Pingback: a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

