Birthday Cake [grandma’s lemon pound cake]

Soon after we were married, I sat my husband down and broke some news to him.  Here’s how it went down (note how many times the word NO is used):

Jennie:  Honey, we need to talk.

Husband:  Ugh.

Jennie:  It’s serious business honey, will you just listen?  I will cook for you as long as we both shall live, but there is one thing I will ask of you for the rest of our lives.

Husband:  I have to do the dishes?

Jennie:  No, you already knew that.  You have to make me a birthday cake on my birthday.

Husband:  I don’t know how to bake, can I just buy one?

Jennie:  No!  They’re never as good as homemade and I would make my own but that’s pathetic.  You can’t make your own birthday cake.

Husband:  Fine.

Jennie:  I could teach you how to make one!

Husband:  No, because I would start and then you would yell at me for doing it wrong and then you would end up making it.

*pause*

Jennie:  True.

And that’s the story of how my husband ended up making my birthday cake.  No pressure or anything, but I gave him Grandma Glass of Milk’s recipe.  I didn’t want to intimidate him on purpose, it’s the birthday cake I ask for every year.  It’s not incredibly difficult though, and it begins with a box mix.  As someone I know and love might say, “How easy is that?”

*photo from my phone

Truth be told, it’s slightly more difficult than one might think for one reason alone.  It involves taking a cake out of a Bundt pan.  Which means you better butter and flour that pan like your life (and your cake) depend on it.  Disasters have been known to happen.

But once you glaze the cake, it looks just fine.

*photo from my phone

Grandma Glass of Milk’s Lemon Pound Cake (which she swears she got from an issue of Southern Living, but she has subscribed for years, so I’m not going to even attempt to find it)

You will need:

  • 1 box lemon cake mix with pudding in the mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 C water
  • 1/3 C vegetable oil
  • 1 C lemon curd (about the same as an 11 oz. jar)
  • 1 C confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 lemon

Preheat the oven to 350.  Grease and flour a Bundt pan.  Do it well.  This is not your average cake pan.  Combine the cake mix, eggs, water, oil and lemon curd in a large bowl.  Whisk until only a few lumps remain.  Pour in the Bundt pan and bake for 40 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let the cake cool completely and invert onto a serving plate.

Now for the glaze.  In a small bowl, mix 1 C confectioner’s sugar with 3 T lemon juice.  Stir until combined.  Add lemon juice by the teaspoonful until you’ve reached the consistency you want.  Use a spoon to drizzle the glaze over the cake.

5 thoughts on “Birthday Cake [grandma’s lemon pound cake]

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday A Glass of Milk | a glass of milk

  2. I heard your own mother tried to make this cake once for your birthday and couldn’t get it out of the pan in one piece, or even in five pieces, or even in . . . well, you get the idea. So she dumped a big bowl of lemon pound cake crumbs into a casserole dish and schlurped some glaze on top, and it still tasted good!

  3. Pingback: What’s New | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

