A Cry for Help [vegetable tian]

In the past couple of days I’ve been working hard to up the fruits and veggies and cut back on the spoonfuls of Nutella in my diet.  The former is going quite well.  The produce from my favorite farmer’s market has been helping with that.  The spoonfuls of Nutella…well, I just love them too much to say no all the time.

But back to the veggies and fruits.  Armed with potatoes, zucchini and tomatoes this week, I gave Ina’s Vegetable Tian a try.  Rebecca made it recently and I remembered what a fabulous idea this dish is.  I’ve made it a couple of times before, and it is a true show stopper.

(Forgive the post-daylight hours photo.)  It’s not a glamorous dish, but it’s so wonderfully rustic. it makes me feel like I’m in the French countryside, even when I’m anywhere but.

However!

Every time I have made this (and I have made it at least three times), a puddle of liquid pools at the bottom of the dish.  I read the reviews on the Food Network site, and no one mentioned this.  I cranked up the oven.  I double checked the recipe to make sure I wasn’t supposed to seed the tomatoes (I wasn’t).  What should I do?  Should I salt the zucchini and tomatoes to draw more moisture out before cooking them?  Help me!

Leave a Reply

