Ten Things [snickerdoodles]

Here are ten things I’m loving right now.

1.  The Phillies.

Back when I was a Philadelphian (think way back in the 90s) we had season tickets.  And this year’s team makes me more excited for April than any team I’ve watched so far.

But this year I don’t have to wait till April because I have tickets to spring training!

2.  Neutrals

Which is new for me.  I like color.  I like Lilly.  My bridesmaids showered me in Lilly not many months ago.

But on a recent trip to what my favorite ten year olds refer to as “The Republic of Bananas,” everything in my shopping bag was beige, blue, black or gray.  What fun.

3.  Empanadas

My mother in law makes them and they are so good.  One of those foods that tastes even better because you wouldn’t even know how to begin making them on your own.

4.  Sassanova

Should you find yourself in Georgetown or Bethesda (or Baltimore, I’m told) with time to kill, you must stop here.  The best shoes and accessories that won’t cost you your next mortgage payment.  Great for gifts too.

5.  Craftiness

“Yes, geeky as it sounds, I scrapbook.”  I read that line in one of the worst teen novels ever written, but if that doesn’t describe me, I don’t know what else does.  I feel so much better now that that’s out in the universe.  I love stickers, paper and adhesive.  Whew.  More specifically, Elise and Kelly are my new loves, creeping up on my abiding love for Ali, Cathy and Lizzy K.

6.  Inches upon inches of snow that does not impede travel plans in the slightest

7.  New York

Sigh,

it is simply my most favorite place on earth.

8.  Mary Poppins

I love her in all ways, shapes and forms.  And I’ll see her again in Philadelphia this spring.  Sous Chef Lauren is not a fan.  Sorry Sous Chef Lauren!

9.  Bedding

Am I too old for snowman sheets?  I hope not.  These go on the bed after my Christmas sheets every year.  They’re warm and fuzzy and there’s nothing better.

10.  Snickerdoodles

Growing up, Grandma Glass of Milk always had cookies in the cookie jar waiting for us when we came to visit.  Was that bribery Grandma?  It worked.  I tried a recipe for snickerdoodles ages ago that couldn’t come close to what I grew up eating.  Then Deb helped me out (also my mother in law, as she came through with the cream of tartar after me and the grocery store were clean out).  And she can help you too.

This is what we left for Santa and we got everything we wanted.  Just saying.

You will need:

  • 2 3/4 C all purpose flour
  • 2 t cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 16 T (2 sticks or 1 C) butter
  • 1 3/4 C sugar
  • 2 T ground cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs

Preheat the oven to 400°, with one rack in top third and one rack in bottom third of oven.  This is because halfway through baking, you’re going to be asked to rotate the cookie sheet you have on the top and bottom racks.  But can I tell you something?  I also looked at Annie’s recipe for snickerdoodles, and she mentioned that she much preferred the cookies that started on the bottom and ended on the top.  I didn’t think I would really notice a difference, not having the refined palate that these famous blog-people must have.  And then what Annie said was totally and completely correct.  The cookies that started on the bottom were nicely shaped, and perfectly golden.  Not that the cookies that started on the top were bad.  But there really was a noticeable difference.

Wow that was a lot of text and all we did was get the oven ready.

Combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, beat the butter and 1 1/2 C of the sugar until light and fluffy (Deb says about 2 minutes.  I don’t think I’ve ever been patient enough for those things). Scrape down sides of bowl. Add the eggs, and beat to combine.  Then add the dry ingredients and do the same.  Deb chilled her dough here, but mine was good to go, so I started scooping little balls and rolling them.  Yes, I could have used a cookie scoop, but this is not a fancy-schmancy cookie, so hand-rolled is in order.  Scoop about as much as you would for a chocolate chip cookie, or as much as would come out of a cookie scoop anyway.

Now the fun part.  Combine the remaining 1/4 C of sugar and the cinnamon in a small bowl.  Take your cookie balls and give them a really nice cinnamon sugar bath.  You want that stuff completely coating the cookies.  Place about two inches apart on parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake until the cookies are set in center and begin to crack (they will not brown), about 10 minutes, rotating the baking sheets after five minutes. Everyone always says move them to a cooling rack after about 5 minutes, but sometimes that doesn’t happen around here.  So I say, heck with it and make your own choice.  But it might actually make some kind of difference and if it does, then please do cool them on a rack.

I’ll have to dig up Grandma’s recipe to compare next time.

4 thoughts on “Ten Things [snickerdoodles]

  1. Pingback: The Easiest Cookies I’ve Ever Made « a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: On Eating My Feelings | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: Holiday Baking | a glass of milk

  4. Pingback: If Snickerdoodles Were Cake [gooey butter squares] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

