A Year Late

Early weekend mornings are usually how I get my fill of me-time.  I creep down the stairs, turn on my laptop (and the TV too, hi Dad, sorry I still can’t commit to one screen at a time) and relax.  I check Twitter, I check blogs, I pin to my heart’s content, and I catch up on whatever shows I missed during the week.  All while my husband snoozes away, oblivious to the goings on.  It’s deeply luxurious.
This particular Saturday, however, I was motivated to get off the couch and get in the kitchen.  I put two and two together and realized that with some leftover ricotta cheese, and a new bag of lemons, there was serious potential lurking in my refrigerator.  Because although Deb’s lemon ricotta pancakes were left alone on a to-do list–the only unmade recipe in the post–they were never forgotten.
More than a year after posting a spring must-make list, I finally tackled the last dish.
And now that they’ve been made and devoured, they will never be forgotten.  The ricotta in the pancakes makes them smooth and creamy, and the lemon perks the flavor right up.   They’re dainty and delicate and will make you feel like a lady before noon on a Saturday.  What more could you want in a breakfast?
To make about 12 pancakes, you will need:
  • 4 large eggs, separated
  • 1 1/3 C ricotta
  • 1 1/2 T sugar
  • 1 1/2 T lemon zest
  • 1/2 C flour
  • melted butter for the griddle or pan
  • powdered sugar for dusting
In the bowl of an electric mixer (or use your hand mixer, you don’t need a KitchenAid for this), beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt on high speed until they form stiff peaks.  This means when you lift up the beater(s) and turn them over, the egg whites will make little mountains that hold their shapes.  The process can take several minutes, so don’t worry if the magic doesn’t happen right away.
Combine the egg yolks, ricotta, sugar, zest and flour in a bowl and whisk until mixed.
Fold in the egg whites.
Then get your griddle or skillet going, and brush with melted butter.  Pour the batter, by the quarter-cupful, onto the griddle.  Once you see bubbles on one side (about 2 minutes), flip your pancake with a spatula.  Keep warm in a 200 degree oven, or serve right away, dusted with powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

