Once You Go Guac [guacamole]

I still remember being introduced to Chipotle in my freshman year of college.  Talk about love at first bite.  Hold the comments where you tell me that this is why Americans are overweight, but I distinctly remember working my way up to eating an entire burrito.  It took a couple of trips.  At first I was only good for about half of a rice, chicken and cheese filled tortilla but those days are well behind me.  As are the days of only three mix-ins.  I only let myself go every other month now.  At six burritos a year, I might as well make them count.  I pack ’em with mix-ins in all the colors of the rainbow.

Have I lost you dear readers?  Are you turned off by my greatest and guiltiest food pleasure?  Will the promise of homemade guacamole help?

While eating at Chipotle in college, a friend of mine asked me whether or not I had tried their guacamole.

“No,” I replied, “I’m not the biggest fan of guacamole.”

“This guacamole is different,” she assured me, “Once you go guac, you never go back.”

And yes she made it rhyme.  My friends are awesome.  And her sage wisdom stayed with me.

Dear readers, I’ve found it.  The holy grail of guacamole.  The guacamole that made me love guacamole.  It’s so simple, a caveman could do it you no longer have an excuse to buy guacamole from the store.  Unless you’re only doing that because you’re waiting for your avocado to ripen.

The recipe takes all of 5 minutes to throw together, and can be scaled up to feed a crowd.  The flavor is to die for, and I’ve decided it’s because there’s nothing fancy getting in the way.  And here’s the kicker: guac is healthy.  Are avocados loaded with fat?  Yes.  Are they the omega-3 kind that everyone says we need to eat and will keep us full for extended periods of time?  Goodness gracious, yes.  Have at it, dear readers, you’ll never go back.

To make guacamole for two, you will need:

  • 1 ripe avocado (it should give a little if you press it)
  • 1/2 a large clove of garlic, or 1 small clove of garlic, minced
  • 3 T small-diced tomatoes
  • 1 T lime juice (or 1 good squeeze)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt if you’re going to use something salty like chips as your dippers, 1/2 tsp. if you’re going the veggie route.

Using a large knife, slice the avocado in half, by running the knife all the way around it, and twisting the halves open like you’d twist an Oreo.  Remove the pit by smacking your knife into it, if you’re confident about your skills; scoop it out with a spoon if not.  Spoon the avocado into a bowl, add the remaining ingredients and mash with a fork.  I like mine with some avocado chunks left, but my husband much prefers a smoother guac.  To each his own.

6 thoughts on “Once You Go Guac [guacamole]

  1. Pingback: What Are Your Classics? | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: The Perfect Occasion | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: You Could Use a Drink | a glass of milk

  4. Pingback: On Getting Out of a Rut [black bean burritos] | a glass of milk

  5. Pingback: The Story Behind the Menu – Taco Night [slow cooker pulled pork] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

