On Blogging

Adam’s recent post on whether or not food blogs have come and gone is, I’m sure, making its way to the far corners of the Internet as we speak, and probably causing a stir as it goes.

I loved it.  I didn’t agree with all of it.  But I loved it for the way it made me stop and think.

And this morning when I tasted a breakfast treat I made, I thought of his post.  I thought, “This breakfast treat is good, but it’s not great.  I could blog about it, and then I’d have a post up.  But I bet I could find a better version of this particular breakfast treat to share with my readers another time.”

And then I moved on with my life.  With my weekly meals mapped out, I went to the grocery store, filled my cart, came home, and continued my day of laundry-doing.  When the time came to make lunch, I set about prepping Truffled Orzo with Asparagus (sans Truffle butter because they didn’t have any at Whole Foods…boo!) for lunch.

I made it because I they made it at the Apartment Therapy Potluck on TheKitchn and it sounded like something I would love.  Let’s be serious, I’ve never met an orzo dish I didn’t like.

And I was blown away.

Even without the truffle butter.

In a moment of self-pity (Poor me, they didn’t have truffle butter and Williams Sonoma wasn’t open yet.) and self-indulgence, I threw some bacon on top of my bowl.

This dish goes over the top, without going overboard. None of the rich ingredients are present in any amount that would make you want to die.  Instead, modest splashes of cream, pats of butter, and spoonfuls of cheese are tucked nicely into an elegantly creamy pasta dish.

What more could you ask for?

There are plenty of tweaks you can make at any point along the way to put your personal spin on this truffled orzo.  This time, I went with bacon, but next time, I may stir in some lemon zest.  If I had any chance of winning tonight’s mega-millions jackpot (or whatever it’s called, I don’t know, I don’t even have a ticket, I’m not concerned), I would bathe not just in truffle butter, but truffles themselves, and I’d shave them right over top of this orzo.

To make enough for a hungry foursome, you will need:

  • 1 bunch asparagus, ends snapped off and cut into bite sized pieces
  • 12 oz. orzo
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 C heavy cream
  • 3 T grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 T pecorino Romano cheese
  • 2 T truffle butter, or the best butter you can get your hands on (I used Plugra)
  • black pepper

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Add asparagus, and cook for 2 minutes.  Fish asparagus out without draining, you want to reserve the water.  Add orzo to the boiling pot, and cook till al dente, 7-9 minutes.  Meanwhile, heat olive oil in large skillet, and cook garlic over medium low heat till lightly browned.  Add asparagus.  Drain and add orzo, and stir.  Off the heat, add cream, butter and cheeses.  Stir in plenty of cracked black pepper and serve.

One thought on “On Blogging

  1. Well, thanks for not blogging about the breakfast treat that you just blogged about! Actually, everything you write about sounds delicious. Snarkety-snark-snark. –Wooden Nickels

Leave a Reply

