Are You In?

When last I brunched with Cari Faye, she joked that she had finally joined the library, like it was an exclusive club that she worked hard to get into.

*source

I may be the world’s biggest library fan.  I remember when I was five years old, and I was finally, finally, old enough for my own card.  It was a little paper rectangle with a metal bar in the bottom right corner.  I have no idea what that bar was for.  But I miss those paper cards.

Mine went through the laundry one fateful day, and I was forced to get a plastic card at some point late in elementary school.

In middle school, I worked at the children’s desk of my local library.  I faithfully reported for duty each summer, and listened patiently to all the tales from kids in the summer reading program.

*source

And now I carry three library cards on my key chain all the time.

Yesterday, I walked out of my workplace doors, and said goodbye to them for the next 12 days.  That’s almost two weeks.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a stack of books on my bookshelf just waiting for their covers to be cracked.

*source

Here’s what I want to read over the next week:

The Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – I found this one via someone’s blog, can’t remember who.  A quick search on GoodReads told me Wooden Nickels is also hoping to read this one.  That’s enough for me to check it out.

*source

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan – I picked this title on a whim when all I was supposed to be doing was returning books at the library.  This is different from what I usually read (the cover is not pink!), but when I came home and saw Deb tweeted about it, I knew I had made a good choice.

*source

A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff – Now we’re getting into my kind of girly fare.  This is what CV would refer to as “a novel.”  As in, one of those books that has the words “a novel” emblazoned on the cover.  CV despises novels, but I eat them up.

And finally, I spotted this cookbook on the shelves of the library and added it to my collection for the next three weeks.  I sat and looked through it after I was finished dinner, and though I had eaten enough, I got hungry drooling over the stunning photos.  If the dishes I flagged are half as good as they look, I’ll be purchasing this before the week is out.  The sticky notes you see flagged are the recipes I have to make immediately.  There are a slew of others I’ll swing back to once I make it through my first go-round.

9 thoughts on “Are You In?

  1. OK, so Wooden Nickels was actually THERE when you got your 1st library card. The lady at the counter asked you your name, and you said, “Jennie.” She said, “Ummm, well, I’ll need your LAST name as well.” It was all so cute that you could actually die from it. Wooden Nickels wouldn’t have DREAMED of going to the counter with you while you were doing this very grownup thing, getting your 1st library card, but she was standing within earshot! Good to know it’s still your favorite “credit card”!

  2. thanks for the shout out! i do adore my library card. but what is even more entertaining is the “expiration date”: 7/16/2109. yes you read that correct, as in like 97 years from now. HA.

Leave a Reply

