Favorites

I have this thing about hyperbole.  I live for it.  See what I did there?  It’s no great secret that I speak in absolute extremes.  Often whatever I do is the best _______ ever.  And I mean it.  So when Joy and Tracy gave their podcast listeners homework the other day, I knew I could make it happen.  All I have to do is come up with 5 favorites right now.  Favorites?  I love favorites!  Let’s go!

1.  The Beatles

*source

I make a new playlist for each season, and when I heard The Beatles blasting at Trader Joe’s yesterday morning, I knew it was time to delete “Winter 2011” and get started on “Spring 2012.”  There are a couple bands who see heavier rotations once the weather heats up, Dave Matthews and Mumford among them.  But it doesn’t get better than the Fab 4.

2.  Liege Waffles

At least, I think they’re my favorite right now.  One of my favorite readers (hi reader!) emailed me after a glamorous ski trip with her family and said she couldn’t get enough of these crazy waffles on her trip.  She did some research and decided they were Liege waffles, emailed me and asked whether I knew anything about them because she was dying to make them again.  I had never heard of them, but as soon as Wikipedia told me they feature, “chunks of pearl sugar which caramelize on the outside of the waffle when baked,” I gasped.  I’ve had Liege waffles many times before, at our neighborhood Farmers’ Market.  I tracked down this recipe, which, as soon as I own a waffle iron, should be fantastic.

3.  New Stationery

I had been squeaking by with my husband’s and my wedding stationery for the past two and a half years, with nothing to show for my “new” last name.  I am a firm believer in thank you notes and monograms.

4.  Lilacs

OMG, lilacs.  Wooden Nickels recently informed me that most gardeners deem these purple plants inferior, but I don’t care what they say.  We had one right by the side of our house growing up, and I would always cut a couple stems and bring them inside to no avail during the 10 days they bloomed.  The branches are meant to stay outdoors, and never lasted more than a day in water.  For the hot second I could keep them alive, they made my whole room smell like heaven on earth.  This beauty is on the first .25 miles of my running route (and thus, also the last .25 miles), and I’m convinced the poor people who own this yard know me as “that weird girl who always stops and smells our flowers when she runs/walks by.”  Oh well.

5.  Trader Joe’s

*source

Trader Joe’s, how do you pull off being the best grocery store in the entire world?  Every time I shop at you, I spend considerably less than I do at my big name grocery store, and my snooty healthy grocery store.  And every time I go I stray considerably from my grocery list.  I come across items that friends have recommended (half baked ciabattini rolls, pita crisp crackers, and dark chocolate non-pareils just from yesterday’s trip), and always find about twelve additional things I don’t really need but cannot live without.  Plus shopping there is just an overall pleasant experience, which is a claim not many grocery stores can hold.

Those are my current faves.  What are yours?

5 thoughts on “Favorites

  1. Trader Joe’s is the greatest! I love their frozen Chile Verde Burritos! I’m moving to Texas soon, so I hope they are planning on expanding there in the near future!

  2. I like that all you had to do was flip your initials around–jDl to jLd. Very clever. And I have just ordered some note pads with my new (middle) name on them! Well, everyone (even snooty gardeners) loves the scent of lilacs, but snooty gardeners are snooty about them because lilacs are ridiculously weedy and can also be downright unkempt/unsightly/boring-looking for the 355 days of the year that they are NOT in bloom. But I am not a snooty gardener, given that along with my snooty plants I love to grow marigolds and zinnias. And I wholeheartedly approve of lilacs.

Leave a Reply

