They Have Such a Good Brunch {hash brown casserole}

Even though it seems like Tumblrs are the new “Shit People from _____ Say,” I still crack up when I watch this.  Don’t even think about standing between me and brunch.  Who doesn’t love an excuse to drink mimosas and eat hash browns?

My all-time favorite way to consume hash browns is via Cracker Barrel’s hash brown casserole.  I went to a Cracker Barrel once to see what all the fuss was about and I didn’t really get it.  But I get this casserole.  It’s the perfect balance of creaminess, cheesiness, and starchiness, with some onions tossed in to wake up your morning.

There is nothing remotely nutritious about hash brown casserole.  Nada.  Zip.  Zilch.  Thus, it’s about the most drool-inducing casserole on the planet.  I got the recipe from a co-worker who always makes it for our staff breakfasts.  And when she does, we fight over it like it’s going to be our last meal.  I’ve been known to eat my breakfast portion, and hide another helping away for lunch.  You’d think I’d be embarrassed to admit that, right?

Ha.

To make a 9 x 13 pan of hash brown casserole, you will need:

  • 2 lbs. hash browns, from the refrigerator or freezer section of your grocery store (defrosted if applicable)
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) melted butter
  • 1 can cream mushroom soup
  • 1 pt. sour cream
  • 1/2 C chopped onion
  • 2 C grated cheddar
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 2 C crushed cornflakes (which I didn’t have, so I used crushed club crackers instead)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients except cornflakes in large bowl and mix till combined.  Put in a casserole dish (I use a 9 x 13 Pyrex pan), and sprinkle cornflakes on top.  Cover and bake for 40 minutes.

Bam.  Brunch just got even better.

3 thoughts on “They Have Such a Good Brunch {hash brown casserole}

  1. Pingback: The Humble Breakfast Casserole {bacon, potato, and egg breakfast casserole} | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: Staff Breakfasts [breakfast casserole] | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: The Story Behind the Menu – CV(D)’s Baby Shower | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

