Inspiration

Do you ever have days where you try and figure out what to cook and nothing sounds appealing?  A cooking rut, maybe?  It happens to the best of us, I think.

When I find myself with nothing to make, which happened the other day, it generally means I’m looking for something new and different, I just don’t know what it is yet.

I’m pretty sure this is the exact reason we have the Internet (Do we still have to capitalize Internet?).  While perusing The Everygirl, I found this beautiful no fuss dinner party, and a recipe for creamed avocado and lime chilled pasta.  Bingo!  I’ve never had pasta with avocado before.

Since I love pasta, and can’t ever get enough guacamole, I figured this unique combination was worth a shot.  And it proved to be that and more, as it came together quite simply.  Boil and drain pasta, mash up a sauce, and combine the two.

To make enough for 4, you will need:

  • 8 oz. pasta, I used orechiette
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • handful of cilantro, roughly chopped
  • zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 3 T greek yogurt
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • salt
  • pepper

Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain well, and set aside.  Combine avocado and remaining ingredients in bowl and mash till combined.  Toss with pasta and serve immediately (yep, I didn’t wait for it to chill). Garnish with more cilantro if you’re so inclined.

*Note – because avocados start oxidizing and thus, turning brown, quite quickly, this one won’t work too well in advance.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration

Leave a Reply

