My Whirlwind Adventures. And Brownies.

Dear readers, in the past two weeks I have slept in the following places:

Last Wednesday: Chevy Chase, MD

Last Thursday: Washington, DC

Last Friday, Saturday: Main Line, PA

Sunday, Monday, Tuesday: Washington, DC

Wednesday: Chevy Chase, MD

Thursday, Friday: Washington, DC

And today is Saturday and I’m back to the Main Line because Queen Cupcake is in town!

In that time, almost everything I’ve eaten has come from a place that cooks food for me, or the Trader Joe’s freezer section.

Almost everything.  The important exception being Judy Levey’s Brownies.  These come from the same colleague who brought us Man Catcher Brownies.  Isn’t she the best?  While working too fast, I neglected to add the proper amount of cocoa powder, instead adding 1/4 C more than necessary.  It turned out to be quite a fortuitous mistake, as my brownies turned out incredibly dark, and were seriously chocolatey.

Do I like them more than Man Catchers?  I don’t know.  Some time ago I decided that I love brownies far too much to ever land on a definitive best brownie.  These are just another worthy choice in my brownie arsenal.

To make 16, you will need:

  • 3/4 C sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C Dutch process cocoa powder (or 3/4 C if you’re looking to make the death by chocolate version I threw together)
  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 C) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 C sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Sift flour, cocoa powder, and a pinch of salt into a bowl.  In a large bowl with an electric mixer cream together the butter and sugar, and beat till light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, 1 at a time, stopping to scrape down the sides as necessary.  Stir in vanilla.  Add flour mixture, stirring just till incorporated.  Pour batter into buttered and floured (or dusted with cocoa powder) 9 inch square pan.

Bake 25-30 minutes, or until brownies pull away from sides of the pan, and toothpick comes out with crumbs adhering to the sides.  If you can wait, let brownies cool before cutting into squares.

2 thoughts on “My Whirlwind Adventures. And Brownies.

  1. Pingback: 22 Recipes Everyone Should Know How to Cook | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

