On Things

Have I told you the story of the word things, Dear Readers?  Things is the affectionate term Wooden Nickels uses for my crap.  She doesn’t like to call it crap.  So instead, she calls it things.  As in, “Jennie, dear, would you please remove your things from the living room floor?”  Or, “Jennie-lumpkins I am going to throw all your things away if you don’t clean them up this instant!”

Things.

Always in italics.  Always in that condescending tone.

I have a lot of things.  So many that I’ve been trying to get rid of 100 of them this summer.  100 is a lot of things.  More than I bargained for.  But I’m making headway.

One thing that became a major point of contention in Casa Glass of Milk is our ice cream maker.  I put it on our wedding registry, dreaming of never buying $5.00 pints of Ben and Jerry’s again.  That ice cream maker would constantly churn out dessert for my husband and I, night after night, through what was sure to be 8,000,000 years of marital bliss.

My husband saw it differently.  He thought the giant ice cream maker (and it is giant–it’s the soft serve kind, and thus, much taller than a standard model) would sit around, gather dust, and take up valuable real estate in our house.

It hurts a little to say this, but I’m gong to.

For 2.75 years, he was right.

Ugh, I hate when that happens.  It wasn’t for lack of good intention.  I have scads of ice cream recipes bookmarked, I own The Perfect Scoop, and I freaking love ice cream!  I have no idea what was holding me back but something was holding me back.  I had never made ice cream from scratch.  Maybe it’s that trying something you’ve never tried before is difficult, no matter how long you’ve been cooking and how much you enjoy it.  Maybe it’s laziness.  Call it like you see it.

Let Jeni’s Roasted Strawberry Buttermilk Ice Cream serve as an eternal reminder that I shouldn’t be so afraid.  Or lazy.  I should take risks in the kitchen.  And I should put my things to good use, so as not to annoy my loved ones.

To make 1 quart of ice cream, you will need:

*First a word to the wise–the bowl of your ice cream maker will need to chill in your freezer for 12-24 hours before you make ice cream.  Plan accordingly.

  • 1 pt. strawberries, hulled, and sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 1/2 C whole milk
  • 1 1/4 C heavy cream
  • 1/4 C buttermilk
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 2 T light corn syrup
  • 2 T cornstarch
  • 4 T (2 oz.) cream cheese, softened
  • pinch of fine sea salt

First you want to roast the strawberries.  You can do this as many as several days in advance if you need to.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Place the strawberries, 1/3 C sugar, and lemon juice in a square baking dish.  Stir to combine.  Roast for 8 minutes.  Remove from oven, pour into food processor or blender, and blend until smooth.  Scoop out 1/2 C for ice cream, reserve the rest to use as a topping, base for a strawberry daiquiri, strawberry lemonade, or all of the above.

To make the ice cream, whisk 2 T milk, and cornstarch in a small bowl to form a slurry (thick mixture).  Set aside.  Beat cream cheese and salt in medium bowl till smooth (with a fork does the trick fine).  Set aside.

Combine remaining milk, cream, sugar, and corn syrup in medium saucepan over medium high heat.  Bring to a boil and let it do its thing for 4 minutes.  Remove from heat and gradually whisk in slurry.  Put pan back on heat, bring to a boil again and let it cook, stirring with a heat-proof spatula, till thickened, about another minute.  Remove from heat.

Gradually beat milk mixture into cream cheese mixture, stirring until completely smooth.  Mix buttermilk into 1/2 C strawberry mixture, then mix that into milk mixture.

Fill large bowl with ice water, to create an ice bath. Pour ice cream base into a gallon sized Ziploc bag (I found a second pair of hands incredibly helpful here), seal tightly, and place in water at least 30 minutes, till mixture has chilled.  You can put the bowl in the fridge overnight if you like.

Pour mixture into ice cream maker and freeze till thick and creamy.  This will vary based on your maker, and how cold the ice cream is when you pour it in.  It took about 18 minutes in mine.

Scoop some out immediately.  Save the rest in an airtight container in the freezer.

3 thoughts on “On Things

  1. Way more complicated then the ice cream I made growing up…
    -drive down to the dairy farm an get fresh cream
    – put that in the ice cream maker that has been magically prepped (by Dad) with ice and rock salt
    – take turns turning the handle til you get board an leave the ice cream maker (Dad again) to his chore
    -enjoy some time that night

    😀

  2. Wow, this is way more complex than Father Glass-of-Milk’s ice cream maker! Still, wouldn’t it be a good idea to bring this–[*eye roll*] MACHINE, shall we say?–to Z beach?

Leave a Reply

