Commitment

I’m going to need you all to commit to seeing some serious cupcakes here over the next few weeks.  There’s a lot that’s worth celebrating going on.  Birthdays and bridal showers, coupled with my distaste for making the same cupcakes twice, means you won’t be able to catch a break when you check in on me over here.

I’m going to do my darndest to pop back now and again with recipes for dishes involving vegetables.

But if you’re like me, then you’re here for the sweet eats anyway.

And these are such a great way to kick things off.  These are champagne cupcakes with sweet champagne buttercream.  I have had these in the cupcake queue for years.  Years!  They were waiting for a special occasion.  An event worthy of popping the cork.  Events came and went, and the recipe sat.  And sat.  Until I decided the event worthy of popping the cork would be a Monday.  Because who doesn’t want a hint of bubbly on a Monday?

My colleagues were thrilled with my culinary decision, and I’m already dreaming of a strawberry champagne buttercream for next time.

Don’t make my mistake.  Don’t wait for a special occasion.  Pop the cork and get in the kitchen!

To make 24 cupcakes, you will need:

  • 2 3/4 C flour
  • 3 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 C butter
  • 1 1/2 C sugar
  • 3/4 C champagne
  • 6 egg whites, whipped to stiff peaks

And for enough icing to pipe on half the cupcakes, and simply spread on the others, you will need:

  • 3 1/4 C powdered sugar
  • 1 C butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 T champagne

To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and line muffin tins with paper liners.

Cream butter and sugar together in large bowl until light and fluffy.  Sift flour, baking soda, and salt together in small bowl.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture in thirds, alternating with half the champagne.  Does that make sense?  Let me clarify.  Flour-champagne-flour-champagne-flour.  Fold in 1/3 of egg whites with spatula.  Fold in remaining egg whites.  Scoop out batter to fill prepared tins 2/3 full.  Bake about 20 minutes.

When cupcakes are completely cool, prepare frosting.  Beat sugar and butter together on low until completely smooth, then on medium for about two minutes.  Beat in vanilla and champagne.  Fill piping bag with icing and swirl away.  I used a star tip.

5 thoughts on “Commitment

  1. Pingback: How I Decided What Flavors to Make | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: Celebrate, Day 5 | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

