Bruschetta Night

Tap, tap.

Is this thing on?

Dear readers, I didn’t mean to run out on you like that.

But I’m back, and with your daily bread, nonetheless.

I also come bearing blurry photos of new plates,

and an inspired idea.

To me, the beauty of Pinterest is that perusing through your boards, it becomes quite simple to discover your style.  For example, looking through my “At Home” board shows me that I’m drawn to rooms that are almost identical.  White or neutral walls, and pops of fun colors in little design elements everywhere.  My “Style” board confirms that my dress leans toward obnoxiously preppy, with classic pieces becoming staples over the years.  Hello blue striped anything.

This summer, my “Drool Worthy” board made it astonishingly clear that I am a woman who has a thing for bruschetta.  If you’re not familiar, all you need to know is that it means I like little toasts with stuff on them.  Who wouldn’t?  This summer, it dawned on me, that rather than host a party in which the only hors d’oeuvres I serve are bruschettas, I could have a bruschetta night for dinner.  One fresh, farmers market baguette, and a few key ingredients later, and I was ready to rock and roll.

There were no ingredients.  There were no recipes.  Just some pictures of stuff I pinned, and a recent memory of an amazing ricotta and orange honey bruschetta I devoured in the West Village lingering in my head.  I sauteed some mushrooms with olive oil, thyme, salt and pepper for a couple of little bites.  I did avocado, a squeeze of lime and a pinch of coarse salt for a couple more.  For some Italian inspiration, I popped some prosciutto, mozzarella and tomatoes on a few slices.  And to round out the night, and my food groups, I recreated the ricotta and honey creation last.

Well, second to last.

Leave a Reply

