Dress Up Your Staples

Each weekend, before I set off on my grocery adventure, I ask my husband, “Is there anything you want to eat for dinner this week?”  About fifty percent of the time, the answer is Peach Whiskey Barbecue Chicken.  The other fifty percent, the answer is “I don’t know, nothing really.”  When that happens, our go-to is risotto (this might not be the first time you’re hearing that information).  I love that it can be taken in so many directions.  Problem is, we usually take in the same couple of directions, depending on the season.  And when the pantry is bare, we simply use butter and Parmesan, two of God’s greatest gifts to the world.

But the other night, we rounded out this one-pot dinner by lining the bottom of our bowls with prosciuttto, and topping our risotto with a “salad” of arugula and Parmesan.  When I hit a bite with all three elements together, it was heaven on a fork.

To make Risotto with Parmesan and Arugula, you will need:

  • a standard risotto recipe (You are welcome to omit the asparagus.)
  • 3 oz. prosciutto
  • a couple good handfuls of arugula
  • Parmesan cheese

Line the bottom of individual bowls with slices of prosciutto.  I tore mine in half because the mood struck me.  Top with a serving of risotto, and top that with as much arugula as you like.  I like to pile on the greens to create the illusion that whatever I’m eating has nutritional value.  Shave Parmesan on top.  I know I grated it in the picture above.  Because I already had the zester.  But I promise, shaved Parmesan > grated Parmesan here.

One thought on “Dress Up Your Staples

  1. Pingback: Accidental Dinners | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

