What Dinner Looks Like

Lest you go thinking that just because I have a food blog my husband and I gaze longingly into each others’ eyes over homemade dinners each night, let me offer you a scene from Tuesday’s table:

That’s real life.

That’s my planner, Twitter, our dinner, my keys, a springform pan, a USB cable, my ice cream, and a glass of milk.

No Twitter at the table.

I just made that a new rule.

The ice cream, however, can stay.  Because I made it myself.  And it tastes as natural as Breyers (because, duh, it is), and as rich as Ben and Jerry’s.  So it’s perfect.

It’s also mint chocolate chip, which is everyone who’s anyone’s favorite flavor.

But the chocolate chip part is made even better with Andes mints.  Andes mints take me back to the day.  Grandma Glass of Milk used to keep a little bowl of Andes mints in her living room, and oh, watch out when I was in town.  We never had candy in our own house, so I remember sneaking them with my chubby little fingers whenever I passed by the bowl.  We’d show up on Saturday morning, and by the evening, the bowl was empty.  I wonder how that happened.

To make a quart of Andes mint chip ice cream, you will need:

  • 2 C heavy cream
  • 1 C whole milk
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 T creme de menthe
  • 1 C chopped Andes mints

Pour 1 C heavy cream in medium, heatproof bowl.  Nest bowl inside of larger bowl, and line larger bowl with ice cubes.  Set aside.

In saucepan combine remaining cream, sugar, and salt.  Cook gently over medium heat, stirring frequently, until sugars have dissolved and mixture starts to steam.  Set aside.

In small bowl, whisk egg yolks.  Slowly whisk in some of warm cream mixture, 1/3 C at a time.  You’re looking to warm the mixture up slowly.  Too quickly and you’ll scramble the eggs.  So take a deep breath, and go slow here.  Pour egg mixture back into saucepan, and crank heat to medium-high.  Cook, again stirring constantly, 5-7 minutes, until mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.  Be careful not to let the mixture come to a boil.  Pour mixture, through fine mesh sieve, into bowl with cold cream.  Stir in vanilla and creme de menthe.

Place layer of plastic wrap directly on top of cream mixture, and refrigerate both bowls till chilled, at least 1 hour.  Pour into ice cream maker and freeze according to directions on your machine.  When ice cream is finished, stir in chopped mints before transferring to container.

Leave a Reply

